We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ at it's best!”

Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que
Ranked #1 of 233 Restaurants in Olathe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
262 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“BBQ at it's best!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

A couple of families went to Oklahoma Joe's this weekend, between everybody we ordered 1 1/2 slabs fo ribs and 3 Z man sandwiches plus fries and texas toast.

We were pleased with the service, and attention of the staff. The ribs were tender, the sandwiches delicius.

we had a good time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WichitaViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    214
    70
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have been here several times. Each time had a large party. Everyone had a good meal, good service, and a good time! Will most definitely go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jsoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just go already!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The food here is off the charts good! Everything from the ribs to the chicken to the sausage to the pork to the fries is outstanding! Be sure to share with others you go with so you can sample as much as possible!

Helpful?
Thank Dinnerman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK but not good as the OK Joes on 47th”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

As a visitor to KC, I have had the opportunity to sampled the KC BBQ over many years, the legendary Arthur Bryant's back when it was the king of KC BBQ and then the Gates glory days with their double-deck brisket sandwiches on white bread, they were the delicious , and then Jack Stack and along comes Oklahoma Joes at a Shamrock gas station and it wins over the KC public in droves. It is great BBQ. I have waited in line and eaten there and appreciate the unique atmosphere. It is well worth the wait. I expected the same quality at the Olathe location and frankly I was a bit disappointed. It is a tall order to match what they have created across all locations, but I thought it should have come closer. The BBQ was good but not great, the portions were smaller. Long story short, if you got the time go to the original locations on W. 47th.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kstatebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
209 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Famous BBQ”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is known as the best BBQ in KC, and one of the best restaurants in the country. Don't let the line throw you off; it moves pretty quickly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing