We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
63
46
19
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
46
19
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk kansas city lounge area fire pit nice free breakfast full kitchen the entire staff pull out couch stayed two nights evening reception waffles clean rooms breakfast room off the highway parking lot hot tub staff was friendly
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 143 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Stayed 2 nights this week. Property is located close to I-35 and 435 via frontage road (Strang Line). There are numerous places to eat nearby which is good. Building is older and nestled among fast casual eating places, a church and a dated apartment complex. Check in was seamless. Got to room and tried to log-in to internet and had trouble. Advised by front desk to call internet provider to get help. I was able to get service on just one device as they did an override to the Marriott log-in page. I stay in a lot of Marriott's and this was the first time for this.

A/C worked ok after I jimmied the thermostat (someone had removed the fan control and forced it into the "auto" position (annoying). Furnishings/carpet are in serious need of updating. TV had limited channels, a few that did not work and TV needed to be plugged in (why was it unplugged?). Tub did not drain properly. Coffee not replaced by housekeeping....

Individually, any of these things on their own are a nuisance, but all together they make for a less than stellar stay. Many options in the area, will try something else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott V, Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Thank you for your recent stay with us and enjoying your time in Olathe. We appreciate the feedback you provided and I will share those comments with the respective departments to address immediately. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

This hotel was dirty from the start. The room had crumbs on the floor, the sheets weren't clean. Had the staff change the sheets and come to find a huge urine stain on the mattress. They ended up switching out the mattress but for them to keep the mattress in that room is absolutely disgusting.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Cor3_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott V, Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Thank you for your recent stay with us and we sincerely apologize that we failed to deliver on our promise to provide you with an outstanding stay. I have shared your feedback with the Housekeeping team to ensure that are checking everything in each guestroom and also confirmed with the Engineer that they have removed the mattress altogether. Thank you for being a Marriott customer and we wish you the best in your future travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

Very nice choice with helpful / friendly staff and very clean rooms. While there are restaurants near by it would be great to have something "across the parking lot" close. Closest is about 0.5 miles away.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank TASunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin F, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us the review. We are so happy to learn that you found our hotel so friendly and clean! We value your feedback and your comments will be shared with our team. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Dustin Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last weekend while there for a basketball tournament. We stayed two nights. The hotel facilities were nice and the breakfast was good and different both days. There are great outdoor seating areas.

The problem was with charges. We reserved the room through Hotwire which requires prepayment. We should not have been charged again. We checked our online bank account and saw pending charges for $40 and $160. We stopped at the front desk to ask. She said there was a $40 pending charge for incidentals. We understand that because every hotel does that. It's refunded after a few days if it isn't used. She was unable to explain the pending $160 and kept telling us it would come off in a few days but was unable to tell us why it was there. We asked for a manager and of course they were "out of town." First thing Tuesday morning those charges were gone. However, there was a new pending charge for $159.36. What's that for you ask? No clue. Sounds like a room charge based on the odd amount. We called a manager and were told it would be taken off right away. Next day...charge is still there but no longer pending. It's fully gone through and off our account. Rest assured we are calling again today but let me say they have been less than helpful. As much as we thought the hotel facility was nice, I'm doubtful we'd ever stay there again due to not being able to trust that they won't charge our credit card without authorization.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Shelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott V, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Thank you for your recent stay with us and we are happy that you enjoyed the many amenities that we offer for our guests. We do apologize for the error in having your credit card charged instead of the Hotwire credit card. Once I spoke to your husband I submitted the credit the same day to your card and provided him with the supporting documents showing that date it was submitted. Once it's submitted to the bank it goes through their time frame to get it posted to your account but regardless we apologize for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017

We have stayed her before so we were a little surprised and dissappointed the Pool was closed. I wished I would have know because I would have probably moved our reservations. The staff was polite and did let us go over to a sister property to use their pool (ok, but not convenient) we were told it had been down for more than a week. The Pool did get fixed on Friday . If you have children and the Pool is a big deal you may want to confirm all is in working order.
We arrived on a Wednesday, they had the dessert/drink social that was basic but nice, loved the chocolate chip cookies. They had also updated decor since the last time we had been there. The Staff is very friendly, helpful and polite.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite, 3 rd floor away from the elevators and basketball court it was quite and clean.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KC-texas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin F, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us the review. We are very sorry for the pool closure as we know the pool is a very big deal when traveling with children. We are so sorry and we have worked with our enginering team to make sure this does not happen again. Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff, this means so much to them. Thank you again for you me feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Dustin Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews