We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost the Perfect Place to Hang Your Hat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Olathe
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Almost the Perfect Place to Hang Your Hat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

It's pretty rare for me to write hotel reviews while I'm still at the hotel. For one thing, I haven't yet finished the stay and may discover some other issues worth mentioning (good or not-so-good). Or maybe the front desk folks will figure out who I am and zap me with a taser (just kidding, of course...uh, I think).

But let's get down to business. I'm in Kansas City by myself for two weeks for some company training. My first week was at the Crowne Plaza, which if you follow my reviews you'll see that I mostly shredded (sorry, Crowne Plaza, but I still think it was balanced). For the second week, I moved to the Residence Inn in Olathe and the difference is like night and day. Let's put it this way: for moving just a few miles down the road I've got a one bedroom mini-apartment with not only a real refrigerator but an entire kitchenette! It's clean, comfortable, and the next best thing to being home. The front desk folks are absolutely awesome and the lot of them deserve raises -- they're holding a bag for a colleague who's not arriving until Monday, found some extra hangers when I needed them, and are just downright friendly.

I desperately want to give the Residence Inn five stars. But I've got to restrain myself and remember that I try to write balanced reviews. One other thing to keep in mind -- for those of you who've read my other reviews know -- I almost always focus on the "big stuff". Too many reviewers get emotional and either praise a hotel like it's heaven on earth or totally trash it for the silliest and most trivial reasons.

Fortunately, there's only one reason why I can't give this Residence Inn five stars. It's the Internet service, which business travelers like me depend on for a lot of our work. No, I don't expect blazing speeds like I have at home but the Internet connectivity at this property is seriously underpowered and easily gets bogged down. Last night it was almost useless, probably because it was so heavily over-used it was running out of steam.

To make my criticism constructive (and since I'm a Cyber Security consultant by profession), I'll offer up some free advice that may help them solve the problem:

1. Your provider is CenturyLink and whatever speed they're providing you is simply not enough to support all the units in this complex. Very early this morning, when most everyone was still in bed, I ran a speed test and the result was only about 5mb download. Granted, that was through the wireless, we'll get to that in a moment.

2. Your wireless access points don't support Wireless-N and should be upgraded to b/g/n access points. Wireless-N is much more efficient and almost all laptops and wireless devices can use it these days.

3. Secure your connection with at least WPA and change the password once a week. You've almost certainly got bandwidth leeches -- there are condos and townhomes in very close proximity to your building and I'd bet a paycheck that some of the folks back there are unwelcome visitors on your wireless network, sucking bandwidth away from paying guests.

My company is headquartered in Lenexa and I'd love to stay here every time I come to town. Congratulations on a fine property, a great staff, and for the "almost five stars" review!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VailAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnOlathe, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly appreciate all the information that we recieve back from our guests. We hope that you come back to visit us in the very near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
36
10
6
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cu-later67
Level Contributor
144 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Can't beat the rooms an breakfast. Staff is very friendly and helpful. This is our fourth stay at this inn and we will continue to stay here. A great value for your money. Breakfast selections are better than most. Close to shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cu-later67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnOlathe, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments about our hotel! We appreciate the feedback! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My family and I came to Kansas for a what was suppose to be a two day stay that turned out to be a four day stay because of the big snow storm they had. Though I was upset about not being to return home, on the flip side it was the best stay ever. Words can not explain the stay we had. the staff was great....beyond great. Because we couldn't get out in that bad storm. The staff gave us appetizers and soda. They had a nice variety to choose from and kept walking around talking to us making sure we were ok. They were very involved and concerned. The rooms were top notch. The housekeeper was great. The bed not only looked great but slept great as well. Also one more thing is we brought our pet dog with us and they were very friendly and excited to meet our 4 legged family member. Thank you so much Residence Inn and we will most definitely be back. You made this a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnOlathe, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review!! We look forward to your return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The friends and I stayed 1 night and thoroughly was impressed. This was the cleanest place I had stayed in, not a speck of dust in the room. We used the pool and spa and the exercise room as well. The breakfast buffet was excellent with much to choose from.
We have already planned another stay.

Room Tip: Lower suite was quiet and really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwiggyKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnOlathe, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We look forward to your return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights for training at a local softwhere company. The staff could not have been nicer. The rooms were clean and the facility well maintained. The meal area was well supplied and the staff was careful to keep it that way.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shep8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnOlathe, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. We thank you as a staff!! Come back us and see us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
263 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Room was nice, clean and comfortable, however walls are thin could hear my neighbor snoring all night. Social hour is nice but could use a red wine - merlot or cab. Fireplace in my room was a nice touch. Especially since it was so cold

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Flfoodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnOlathe, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We appreciate your feedback from your stay. We do like to take all comments and see what we can do to improve the experience of our hotel. Please let us know if you travel back through and stay with us. Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Arrived on Sunday Oct 7 for a full week of work in the KC market. When unpacking my work cloths the closet had a total of 4 hangers. Even if I doubled clothing on the hanger this is not enough. Informed Josh (?) at the front about the hangers and missing TV remote, with in minutes he brought me more hangers and a remote.
The breakfast buffet is alway nice. Except for the cartons of skim milk. on Monday 10/8 the milk was stamped with the date of 10/10/12, how ever the carton I grabbed that morning was sour, same the following morning, by Wednesday the same date was stamped on the milk and I informed the attendant that the skim milk was sour and had been for days. She seemed to busy stocking coffee cups to even notice my comment. ( I drank 2% on that day). By Thursday 10/11 the cartons stamped 10/10 were still on the buffet, but there were also cartons stamped 10/23, that is was I consumed for the remainder of my stay. Think the breakfast attendant would notice things like that when stocking the breakfast bar.
Josh (?) then had to bring me a TV Chanel guild as I was looking for the NFL network, for the Thursday night game. He is a great person to have running your front desk and does all he needs to do to meet the guest needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnOlathe, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and your kind words about our associate Josh. He really excels with customer service at the front desk. We are pleased that you recieved that great customer service with us. Thank you, as well, on the information regarding the milk. We have since changed milk suppliers and want to thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olathe hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olathe
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Olathe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Olathe
Hampton Inn Olathe
#4 of 14 in Olathe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Olathe North
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City Olathe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe

Property: Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe
Address: 12215 S Strang Line Rd, Olathe, KS 66062-5224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Olathe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Olathe
#6 Business Hotel in Olathe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott-Olathe, KS gives you room to relax, room to work, room to breathe. Stretch out in a 50% larger toom for about the same price as an ordinary hotel room. Start you day with our full breakfast buffet. Relax in our pool, whirlpool, or excerise room. Enjoy the friendly, home-like atmosphere that is uniquely Residence Inn. We have spacious studio, one bedroom, and two bedroom suites, some with fireplaces. Fully equipped kitchens with full size appliances. We have all the conveniences of a hotel and all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Olathe Hotel Olathe
Residence Inn Olathe
Marriott Olathe
Olathe Residence Inn
Olathe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing