We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a decent hotel, but some staff could be friendlier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Olathe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Olathe
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a decent hotel, but some staff could be friendlier”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days, mainly because of the location. We usually stay at Hampton hotels, but we chose this one instead. It was nice enough. The man checking us in was really friendly and chatty, and upgraded us to a suite for signing up with the rewards program. The rest of the staff were not as friendly. They mostly ignored you if they walked by (smiling and saying hello can make a huge difference in hotel stays!), and one morning at breakfast, we saw another guest ask if she could have some coffee, and the attendant said, "you want more?", to which the guest replied, "I haven't had any yet". This is a far cry from the service at other hotels where coffee and tea are available at all hours, not just breakfast. The "hot breakfast" was also kind of crappy - just biscuits and some powdered scrambled eggs. The room was modern and clean, and overall a satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_gal00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Gen-Mgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Olathe Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
I am sorry to hear that you came across a staff member that came off unfriendly. Here on Tripadvisor, (other review sites as well as surveys we get from guests), so often receive great compliments on all the staff and I regularly give them feedback on who to say or do something as I am very aware of how things may be perceived.

I am confident that this is just one of those moment when my staff member was having an off moment or possibly an off day...for that I apologize.

Give us another chance and you'll see why we do get great scores!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    120
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
212
102
27
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in. Our home is having work done so we have had to be out for a week. Part of the time we stayed with family out of town, but the last 3 days we came here. We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor and we couldn't have asked for a better place. The rooms are very clean. The furniture is like brand new and the bed is more comfortable than our bed at home.. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. We arrived an hour and a half early with no where to go on the hottest day of the year with our little puppy. They were able to get us into a room within 20 minutes. We probably won't have a need to stay here again because we live here, but I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Olathe, Ks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMA1ST2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our first experience at a Best Western hotel. Our family is a little picky, so we weren't sure how we would like this small hotel, but I can tell you we were pleasantly surprised! The interior of the hotel is very nice and extremely clean. The have a great indoor pool and spa, a breakfast area with lots of goodies, and a big screen TV with coffee in the lobby. The guest rooms are rather large and the beds were very comfortable. Even my very tall and large football player son was happy. There are many restaurants around the hotel and you are only 20 minute from many attractions. Check out The Plaza shopping area and The Legacy outdoor mall. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tia7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2011

From the time you walk in you know you made a great decision coming to this place. It's CLEAN, friendly, comfortable, quiet, updated, great breakfast, so much to offer at such a great price!!! LOVED it, highly recommend this place, and I will be back when I go to visit my family in Olathe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Thank you for a very enjoyable four day Easter weekend for our 10 adult and 6 grandchildren, and one large dog family. Your hotel staff was so friendly and accomodating from reservation to checkout. Your clean rooms and pool area and easy access to eating places , shopping, and site seeing were very much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overbrook, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2011

This facility is an excellent place to stay. The employee's was very concerned that everything was in place and the service was great. All the facility was very clean and in place. The manager was extremely friendly and helpful.

I don't think we have stayed any place any better than this. We have told our family and friends about this place.

Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhbjfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We had a large group with children for one night. The staff was excellent from start to finish! Very helpful in setting up the reservations, check-in, and during our stay. The rooms were very spacious and clean. We had other travelers stay at different hotels in Olathe, and we had the better hotel at a cheaper price! Highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pholman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olathe hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Olathe
5.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City Olathe
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olathe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Olathe - Kansas City
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Olathe
Hampton Inn Olathe
#4 of 14 in Olathe
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Olathe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Olathe Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Olathe Hotel
Address: 1580 S. Hamilton Circle, Olathe, KS 66061-5377 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Olathe Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Olathe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Olathe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Olathe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Olathe Hotel located off Interstate 35 in Olathe, Kansas. Guests staying at this hotel will be conveniently near the Olathe Medical Center, Garmin International and the Old Olathe Naval Air Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Olathe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing