We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Clean Clean”
Review of 1st Travel Inn

1st Travel Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1st Travel Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oakley
Reviewed April 15, 2011

After reading all the positive reviews, I chose to stay here on a cross country trip with my dog this Spring. I was not disappointed. It's a very basic renovated motel from the 50s, with all the modern amenities and improvements one expects. Charming and homey, but nothing extraordinary. I'm giving it five stars for outstanding fresh-scrubbed cleanliness!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nytraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was a nice, clean, inexpensive hotel. It's a bit dated but the room was spotless. I was traveling with my family including our dog and needed a place to spend the night. We read positive reviews for this hotel online and decided to check it out. It was perfect for us. The price was very modest. The room was not fancy but had everything we were looking for including a refrigerator, a microwave and a comfortable bed. The owner who checked us in was very pleasant and helpful. We were really impressed with how clean the room was, especially given its age. We spilled some water on the floor and used a white towel to clean it up. After scrubbing the floor the towel was still perfectly white. If I'm ever ever passing through, I'll stop again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rdfager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Very highly recommended. Owner and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The area is quiet and safe. Very easy to get to. Did not have any of the highway noise that most places have. The best value that I have found in a long time for the quality and friendliness that you receive. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tomdamnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

This motel is a step back in time. It retains much of its 1950s era decor as a U.S. Highway 83 motel: Outside room entrances, aqua tile in the bathrooms, simple furnishings, and not that many rooms. The proprietors seem to live in quarters attached to the property. I have stayed there twice in the last few years and have had suitable experiences both times, and with different owners. You have to drive a couple of miles off of I-70 into downtown Oakley to get to it. I like the fact that it is away from the loud interstate traffic. The small town main street location has a certain charm to it. The hotel is clean, but not fancy at all. Prices are modest. This hotel is not as nice as most hotels I rate three stars on this web site, but it is much better than "poor"(the two-star rating), so call it two and one-half stars. Plus the price is very good. They have their own web site and you can book direct and sometime save a bit more.

This motel seems to do a lot of its business with people just passing through on I-70 and hunters during season.

Note that this is not the 1st Interstate Inn, which is a different motel close to I-70.

Finally, Oakley has some very good and interesting local restaurants for the traveler.

I probably will return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

My husband and I left home for a much anyicipated trip and he was unexpedtedly hospitalized the night before our reservation and they will not make an exception even for that. The man on the phone said he had no proof. Well, obviously if my husband is in the hospital, I can provide proof. He was quite rude.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank jaws48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
1.0 mi away
Kansas Country Inn
Kansas Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Oakley
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Oakley
21.5 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#5 of 10 in Colby
317 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
558 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1st Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1st Travel Inn

Address: 708 Center Ave, Oakley, KS 67748-1724
Location: United States > Kansas > Oakley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range: $49 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 1st Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to provide a home away from home, in a socially responsible manner that challenges us and others to learn and grow. We view our customers, employees and vendors as partners in our mutual continued growth. We see the 1st Travel Inn as a vehicle by which all of our partners can contribute to our society and environment in a respectful and enjoyable atmosphere. We look forward to provide clean, healthy, green lodging and pertinent information that exceeds expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your 1st Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing