We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Annie Oakley Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Annie Oakley Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oakley
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Sure I've stayed in fancier places yet there is something charming about a little family run hotel...that is - the ones that are clean and well cared for! It was very clean, comfortable room, and I liked that the historic tile with the A.O. initials were still intact in the bathroom. I have a feeling that this motel may have a constant "in renovation" feel to it. That didn't bother me especially after seeing the owner teaching a young boy (I believe to be his son) how to fix his bicycle. It was endearing to see and made me wonder if the child had also stood next to the owner when renovating the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
17
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Well true it's not the Hilton, but very welcoming clean and tidy, also well priced for the weary traveller. We would come again

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

It's a typical story about an Indian family that moved to America and bought a motel. If you are looking for a clean place at a fair price this could be it. If you care about appearances you might want to pass. I'm guessing the owner is a do-it-yourself sort of person judging by the quality of the 'improvements' that have been done. An example photo is attached. The vanity in my bathroom was removed and replaced with just a new counter top. One end was fastened to a 2" x 4" nailed to the wall and the other end was supported by a brace made of 2" x 4"s. No vanity under it and unsupported in the center. I was so amused at how crude the work was that I took this photo to show my friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sknovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW AR
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed at the Annie Oakley on the way to Oregon. It was a long trip, and I'd gotten a late start, the day I stayed there. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. There's not much in the way of amenities. It's an old motel that is being updated. There is a laundry facility across the parking lot, but it's not open 24 hours.
One corner of the vanity was propped up with a 2x4, and there was no cabinet or support under the surface. It appeared to be partway through renovation. If the room was like this for some time, then I would rate it lower. I was not thrilled with how dim the lighting was in the room (high-efficiency bulbs in a single overhead and two lamps just weren't enough for me, and I'm usually not too picky about having lots of light). There was some paint on the carpet, and they had one of the things that I hate: shampoo and conditioner in tear-open plastic pouches. I had a small bag to pull out for the night, and I'd forgotten to put my own shampoo in it, so I was stuck using theirs. Get your hands wet, get a little soap on them, THEN try tearing open a well-sealed shampoo (or jelly) packet...

Nice folks. Small town (good cafe and donut shop a block or so down the street). Hard to find at night, due to poor street signs and road markings in the town! Probably the best price you'll find in the area for a clean room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWA_VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

You really could eat off their floors in the room. I don't think I could ever get them that clean. A really pleasant surprise I the middle of nowhere. I will tell others about the place and encourage others to sat here....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pmrphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clever, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We had to stop driving on our way home from Colorado to get some sleep and found the Annie Oakley Motel in Oakley, KS and were very pleasantly surprised. Clean rooms very comfortable beds and a very nice couple were there to greet us when we got there. The bathrooms could stand a renovation but they were still clean and functional. Not much else to say about Oakley Kansas but we found a nice place to lay our heads for the night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontgomeryFamily21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
0.8 mi away
Kansas Country Inn
Kansas Country Inn
#2 of 6 in Oakley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Oakley
19.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
19.7 mi away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#7 of 10 in Colby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie Oakley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie Oakley Motel

Property: Annie Oakley Motel
Address: 428 Center Ave, Oakley, KS 67748-1718
Location: United States > Kansas > Oakley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annie Oakley Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Annie Oakley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing