We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should've stayed elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn - Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn - Newton
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Newton
Sterling, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Should've stayed elsewhere”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We booked this hotel through Expedia's "Unpublished Rates". The rate said that there is a pool -- too bad we didn't know that it was outside and in January, that is a problem. Upon check-in we were given room 221. Upon entering, the room smelled and the furniture was in a disarray. Additionally the furniture was very scratched and worn. After a few minutes, I needed to use the bathroom -- the toilet was filled with excrement and not working. We almost left the property. When I complained, there was no apology, but the attendant was quick to reassign us to a "Business Class" room. Our reassigned room was much better. While still spartan, (of course what should one expect for $50/night), it was comfortable with a nice desk, and a recliner in addition to our king-size bed. If all the room were like this in the hotel, our review would be much more positive, but, as far as I could tell, there were only two other rooms that had similar designation. Of course, booking it on an "unpublished rate" basis, puts one in a precarious position. At least it was for only one night. Be careful out there.

Room Tip: "Business Class" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M-Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    66
    40
    42
    20
See reviews for
83
31
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas City, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Your lobby makes a beautiful first impression with its cleaniness, fresh smell and decor. Friendly staff that goes out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are clean, fresh smelling, comfortable beds with lots of big fluffy pillows and all the normal handy appliances. We felt so comfortable in our room -- was truly the best motel room we have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Clean! Comfortable! Smells Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

stayed here with my family for about 2 nights and had problems the second night with noisy children but the management took care of it just like a professional hotel, breakfast was quite fullfilling and the pool was relaxing and internet was surprisingly fast. got out alot than what we were expecting, rate was very negotiable just needed to be cooperative with the management, they were surprisingly understanding, good stay overall

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I was traveling for business but brought my sister along with me. This hotel was about what we expected for being in a small town right off the highway. It was clean but outdated and room had a slight musty smell. The front desk staff was very nice and even allowed us late checkout at no cost. Ben linens were clean but the mattress was hard. Breakfast had a good variety, make your own waffles, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee. There was a pool but we did not use it. Overall, I would stay here again if I needed to be in the area. Wifi was free and I found the speed to be pretty fast. There was also a mini fridge and microwave in our room. Water pressure was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKMITRA_11, General Manager at Days Inn - Newton, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank You so much on behalf of all the employees from the Days Inn-Newton. We really appreciate your comments and this will certainly energize us more to provice the best service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My husband and I were passing through town and saw the Days Inn just off the highway. We should have kept going. I'd say it wasn't the most horrible room I've stayed in, but it was definitely on the Top5 list. The sheets were dirty with stains, the bathroom was not that clean and the room was extremely outdated. It was not worth the price paid. We were expecting a little more for our money

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBaker1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Didn't have much experience with Day's inns, and we booked this one because it was the last hotel room available for the KS state fair dates that would take a pet. Lower priced hotels always seem to be hit and miss for us but this one turned out to be pretty good. When we first arrived, the chairs in our room were obviously stained, but Sai at the front desk found us some better ones. Bed was comfortable, A/C was great, Internet was free but somewhat slow. They had us booked into a business room on the second floor but gave us a ground floor room so that our old dog wouldn't have to negotiate the stairs. All in all a good experience, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puertoboy1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWN2013, General Manager at Days Inn - Newton, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you! Your compliments are so much appreciated, and I love the opportunity to give the staff a "pat on the back" every chance I get. It's a wonderful feeling for us to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope you can come back!
Thank you for your kind words describing the Days Inn. We have worked hard to insure that our guests have a great stay and we are constantly striving to meet guest expectations. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you visit again soon.

Appreciative guests like you sure make our job so much easier. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next trip! Thank you again for your wonderful compliments!!!

We Hope to see you soon!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Staying at a Days Inn these days has become a real crapshoot, but this property is one of the good ones. Friendly check-in staff in a very attractive lobby. The rooms are clean, spacious, and well-appointed with a fridge, microwave, and nice flatscreen TV with lots of channels. The bed is pretty comfy with 4 pillows. They give you a complimentary USA today, which isn't the norm at the typical Days Inn. The place even smelled nice.

There is a big breakfast room downstairs with a good selection of food and plenty of tables.

The location is right along the freeway, with a big truck-stop/travel-center behind, yet the motel is pretty quiet. There is some food nearby, but most of the good eateries are a few miles away in town.

I've stayed here several times since 2002, and the quality has been consistently good throughout that period.

To me this is a good value for the price, and probably the best option in Newton.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cadillac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWN2013, Front Office Manager at Days Inn - Newton, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you! Your compliments are so much appreciated, and I love the opportunity to give the staff a "pat on the back" every chance I get. It's a wonderful feeling for us to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope you can come back!
Thank you for your kind words describing the Days Inn. We have worked hard to insure that our guests have a great stay and we are constantly striving to meet guest expectations. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you visit again soon.

Appreciative guests like you sure make our job so much easier. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next trip! Thank you again for your wonderful compliments!!!

We Hope to see you soon!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Newton
0.2 mi away
Red Coach Inn
Red Coach Inn
#3 of 6 in Newton
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Hesston
16.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wichita - Park City
20.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Wichita North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Newton

Property: Days Inn - Newton
Address: 105 Manchester Ave, Newton, KS 67114-5023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn - Newton 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Comfort in Newton Close to Kauffman Museum and Kansas Cosmo sphere & Space Center Friendly service awaits at our Days Inn Newton hotel, near I-135. Located near great area destinations. we offer comfortable, affordable accommodations whether you are with us just one night, or plan to stay and enjoy the area. Enjoy a free Daybreak continental breakfast, connect to our free Wi-Fi, and relax in our seasonal outdoor pool. We provide an in-room refrigerator and microwave, a business center, free large-vehicle parking, 24-hour coffee in the lobby, and guest laundry facilities. Non-smoking and accessible rooms are available at our pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn - Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Newton
Newton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing