We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality declining”
Review of Bread Basket

Bread Basket
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Newton, Kansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality declining”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The food quality has declined considerably over the past few years and the maintenance and cleanliness is becoming worse. Rug is terribly worn and dirty, long rug along buffet is an accident waiting to happen as it is constantly tripped on, and recently at our table there was a dirty musty smell. So sad because this used to be a favorite place to go. Not worth the price any longer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KMC459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    29
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, but overpriced”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great food, but overpriced, cannot afford to take family there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Talljhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unique Options, But Quality Has Suffered”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Breadbasket has been a local staple in Newton for many years. They offer a number of different types of food, so I'll try to review them individually.

But first, a bit about the restaurant itself. You order at the counter, and if you ordered any type of buffet, it's right there. There is a lot of seating, but despite that, on Friday and Saturday nights, there can be a wait to get in.

First, some background so you know where I'm coming from. I'm a local, but travel quite a bit. My standards are high, as I have family and know other local opportunities to get the type of food served at Breadbasket.

I completely understand people giving it top points if you lack those opportunities. However, if you have relatives that make great pies with freshly-made filling, then Breadbasket's, which often use filling from a can, just aren't what you'd expect. (In fairness, MANY restaurant pies don't pass my test.)

The Breadbasket headline is the "German buffet" on Friday and Saturday nights. There is a bit of local custom referring to the kind of food they have as "German", though it is more a unique blend of Ukranian. (The German-speaking Mennonites that settled here brought unique traditions with them.) My favorites are the Verenike (a dumpling with a cheese blend inside) with ham gravy, and the Bohne Berrogi (a dessert involving beans in sweet dough and sweet sauce). I enjoy them at the Breadbasket.

BUT - I am also disappointed in the Verenike, and the ham gravy, every time I'm there. It's not as good as it was under previous owners, and continues to go downhill. If you've ever had the Verenike at the Kansas MCC Relief Sale, you'll know what I mean.

The remaining items on the German buffet are breads, salad bar, sausage, sauerkraut, ham, soup options, etc. Another ethnic food, Zwieback (a sort of double roll), also is not as tasty as it should be at Breadbasket.

At lunch, they offer sandwiches and soups. They are good but nothing special.

If you've never tried the food from this region, the Breadbasket is the most accessible way to try it. It is the only restaurant I know of that has these things regularly on its menu. On the other hand, keep in mind that quality has been squeezed out and it will be a lot better if you find someone's kitchen to serve you instead. Having said that, go. Try it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank prairiecode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

eveything the food is great and great choices also

Helpful?
Thank thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good simple food....pricey and pretty plain”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We went to the German buffet. The food was pretty plain and there were not a lot of choices. The place was very crowded even though the buffet was over 12.00/person. The food was good, mostly well made and seasoned correctly. However, a few more choices and a few more seating options would have worked out a lot better.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbieisagoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread Basket also viewed

 

Been to Bread Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing