We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Eats!!!”
Review of Woodfire Grille

Woodfire Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Woodfire Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Mulvane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mulvane Exit 33 off of 35
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Eats!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We definitely enjoyed our dinner at Woodfire Grille. Our server was delightful and our meal divine. We will absolutely return on our next visit to Kansas Star Casino and our stay at The Hampton Inn.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suburban Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost, but just not quite.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My three adult children and I dined at the Woodfire and agreed the food was very good. We had a couple steaks and the sea bass with soups, mashed potatoes and mac & cheese (no dessert). All were quite good but just a notch below the "great" rating we were sort of expecting. The wine choices were extensive and good. Service was friendly and very attentive. (Servers reversed the "medium" and "medium-well" steak, but we quickly figured that out and swapped.) Prices seemed slightly high considering the food was not all that exceptional. Décor was pleasant and noise level was just right. Might go back for an occasional special occasion but it won't go on my top level list of can't miss restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeandPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
227 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very surprising”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went tonight with friends to the Woodfire Grille in the Kansas Star Casino and was not expecting a great meal but was very pleasantly surprised.
Our waiter was a young man named Andrew and he was excellent. He made a very nice presentation on the menu and the specials and was very well informed on how the food was seasoned and presented. He had a sense of humor and overall did a great job.
My wife had the Sea Bass and I had the Halibut, both were cooked perfectly and were very tasty. We had a side order of Mushrooms and they were great. Prices are not cheap but meal was well worth the price. Very nice wine selection and reasonably priced. We will sure go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Absolutely wonderful food and server. Our server, Andrew, is probably the best I have ever had. He recommended a great wine and was fully versed in the story behind it. I ordered the lobster which is an incredible value at $38 and absolutely fantastic. Andrew, again, explained the differences between different types of lobster and where their lobster is from. My son ordered the Porterhouse. Perfectly cooked and melt in your mouth tender. We had an after dinner coffee which was prepared table side as a "flaming" drink. All three servers who were still on duty at 10 pm participated in the making of the flaming coffee...so much fun. A most enjoyable evening. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not the quality of food I expected...”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We hadn't been to the casino for a year and decided to try some gaming and have a meal. Woodfire grille is beautiful and spacious with a nice bar and a separate seating area. The hostess and bartenders were attentive and friendly. We decided to try the Avacodo wraps - - Halibut and Bacon wrapped shrimp with chipolte pasta - for the price the food was pretty blah - the presentation was beautiful but the quality was not there. I will not be returning for a meal but I will stop and have a drink at the bar with the great staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodfire Grille also viewed

 

Been to Woodfire Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing