We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a large group to gather”
Review of Acorns Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acorns Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
1 review
“Great place for a large group to gather”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My family from Minnesota, Nebraska and Texas got together right after Christmas for a week. It was a perfect place for 14 of us to stay, and was a terrific price. We stayed in Cabin 6 and it was very spacious with a fantastic lake view and beautiful sunsets. We had almost everything we needed in the kitchen to prepare meals. There are a few down sides...the kitchen utensils and cookware was pretty well worn and needs to be replaced badly, and there is no laundry facilities nearby (which is not good for a weeks stay) so pack accordingly. We are very sad that the prices are going up this year and we probably won't be able to return for that reason, otherwise we would have loved to make it a yearly destination.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acornsresort, Front Office Manager at Acorns Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
We are so glad that your family enjoyed your stay at Acorns Resort. We truly hope that your family time was everything you hoped it would be. We look forward to working with you in the future, just give us a call and we will be glad to help work out an arrangement that will work for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    27
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
123
21
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights in a cabin. The cabin was clean and well furnished with pans, eating utensils, and even a dishwasher. It was homey and spacious. We hope to come back with our four children and take advantage of the beach and lake activities they have to offer. The lady that greeted us in the office was especially welcoming and made us feel impoprtant. I will definitly recommend this to my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acornsresort, Front Office Manager at Acorns Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
We are so very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Acorns Resort. We strive to make every guest feel special and hope that you will return often for many more precious memories together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Our family has stayed at Acorns Resort and truly enjoyed our experiences there. It is in a beautiful location, the cabins are great with comfy beds and just about everything you would need, and there is always something to do. We have rented the pontoon boat and spent an afternoon cruising and fishing, we have walked the trails and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and also just sat on the porch or balcony just taking it all in while we grilled up supper. Whether you are here for a day, a weekend, a few days or an extended stay, it doesn't get much better than this. Mike and his staff do a great job and it's always fun to see what he's got planned for the future.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any "bad" rooms here. It just depends where you want to be lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Couldnt have found a better place to stay while celebrating our sons return from Iraq. The cabin was a home away from home. Had everything we could ask for and more. The lake area was awesome and the staff was very friendly. It even had a little store for common things you may need at the cabin. My son will now be stationed in Junction City ks near Acorns Resort and I sill stay there every chance I can. I have stayed in several of the local hotels and none can compare!

Room Tip: If you need a large place some of the cabins have five, yes five bedrooms all large in size and grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We've been to Acorns for 3 years now for our annual family retreat. We live in Tulsa, Wichita, & KC. We don't watch TV in the cabins & are therefore prompted to discover many delights without relying on TV for entertainment. We stayed in the deluxe cabin the 1st year, & in 2 of the smaller ones the other 2 years. We rent a pontoon for an afternoon & have fun discovering 'islands' & peninsulas' in the lake. The biggest compliment I can pay any vacation place happened when the 2 oldest boys (teenagers) chose to stay behind on a 'peninsula' while the rest of us went pontooning for an hour or so. They 'buried' each other in the sand & spent their time without cell phones, as they had left their phones in the boat. When we pontooned back to pick them up, one of them commented that he couldn't believe they spent 2 hours without electronics! We'll be enjoying our 4th annual family retreat in 2012 - again at Acorns.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tribtulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acornsresort, Manager at Acorns Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad that your family enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next year. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Riley, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Our family stayed on Milford Lake a few weeks ago for a last minute fall getaway. We were able to book a Cabin right near the water. The staff that checks you in at their office was friendly and attentive. The interior of the cabin was clean, comfortable and had a beautiful, rustic feel and had everything that we needed. The kitchen came with all the flatware, pots, pans and utensils that we needed to cook a great meal. The bathroom was stocked with plenty of towels and washcloths for everyone in the Cabin and all the linens were fresh and new looking. The only thing we had to bring was the food! The kids loved having their own space to play and sleep up in the loft. We came to the lake to get away and relax, but it was still so nice that it also came with free WiFi and cable inside to stay connected!
Our favorite part of the stay was walking on the trails that wind through the resort, sitting on the porch and around the firepit at night. Everything about our stay was perfect; this is definitely a place we will come back to again and again. We have been to Milford Lake several times and this was by far the best place we’ve stayed. We are planning a summer trip to come back and boat and swim at their beach during the summer, but the weather was still great and we were able to enjoy everything around the resort and lake for a perfect fall getaway!!

Room Tip: We had Cabin 4 which backed right up to the beach and has a great view, but all the Cabins were with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JessicaB197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My family and I stayed here for my brother-in-law's homecoming a couple of weeks ago, and we couldn't have been happier! Immediately, just from seeing the view from the lodge porch, my girls and I decided we'd be happy living here! Then we opened the door to the gorgeous room we had and were more convinced than before. The room was warm and inviting, and bigger than any hotel room I've stayed in. The beds were super comfortable, so much so we all slept like rocks. We found everything to be just as clean as could be and were very happy with the resort employees who were willing to go out of their way to do anything extra we asked of them, including coming down in their off time just to get us extra towels. The grounds of the resort show that care is taken of it all the time, and we saw how the resort is being expanded even more. That should be great for the area, considering this is the only place of its kind on Milford Lake! The beach was within walking distance of the lodge and we enjoyed walking down there and exploring. You can see evidence of the flooding that happened this summer, it's too bad other reviewers seem to think that the resort is somehow in charge of the flooding or can actually maintain trails to the water that have been underwater most of the summer. I had worried after reading some of the other reviews of Acorns about things like spiders or bugs or dirty linen. In our experience, all the linens were very nice and clean, and as for spider webs, I figured that if I found any, I'd have to chalk it up to the fact that it is a rustic lodge, in the woods, by a lake. We didn't have to deal with any of that though, as our room didn't have anything like that. I'm glad we decided to take a chance on Acorns Resort as we had a wonderful time and just can't wait to go back and hopefully try a cabin next time!

Room Tip: If staying in the lodge, ask for the second floor if possible to get an even better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaA1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
17.4 mi away
Bluemont Hotel
Bluemont Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manhattan
280 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Junction City
Hampton Inn Junction City
#1 of 15 in Junction City
540 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western J. C. Inn
Best Western J. C. Inn
#3 of 15 in Junction City
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Quality Inn near Fort Riley
Quality Inn near Fort Riley
#2 of 15 in Junction City
119 reviews
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Manhattan
10.2 mi away
Courtyard Junction City
Courtyard Junction City
#5 of 15 in Junction City
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Resort

Property: Acorns Resort
Address: 3710 Farnum Creek Rd, Milford, KS 66514-8956
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Milford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorns Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Milford Lake Conference Center and The Cove Lakeside Bar & Grill Restaurant. Near Ft Riley, Junction City and Manhattan Kansas, offering 20 Beautiful custom built rustic log cabins in various sizes, decorated & furnished with full kitchens, the Flint Hills Lodge with 9 room (motel style) overlooking Milford Lake, Kansas. Great for family vacations and reunions, hunting and fishing. Offering covered boat slips, pontoon boats rentals, kayaks, canoes or Stand Up Paddleboard rentals, hiking, biking and two swim beaches. RV Campgrounds including 61 full service sites. Tent camping available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Acorns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Resort Milford, Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing