We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My son and I recently stayed here while we were in town for a basketball tournament.
I could not have asked for a better experience...
The rooms were incredibly nice and clean.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were understaffed one of the days due to something unexpected and they ran around like crazy with smiles on their faces taking care of everything!
They kept up with the huge demand for food for all of these huge teen boys!!!
I absolutely would recommend staying here, especially for sports teams, due to the incredible service, cleanliness, and extra perks!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor close to the lobby and although sometimes I could hear people outside, th...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lort165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We always stayed with a different chain. This time I explored what others were saying about Drury Inn, then I came across an article stating Drury was again at the top of the excellence list.
I followed them on Twitter, saw that they had just won the JD Powers Excellence Award for the 7th time and along with that they gave out a savings code.
I made reservations yesterday morning, saved a lot of $, cked in yesterday, everything was really great! W/ savings from the code they gave, I upgraded our room to the King Deluxe, great choice! It had plenty of room!
We took our small dog (which was another reason we chose to go there because they are pet friendly) and they didn't charge extra! Yay!

Wherever we travel and there is a Drury, we are choosing it over the others!

Room Tip: 2nd floor/front of hotel was very quiet
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Not only does this hotel offer breakfast, it also has light dinner options between 5:30 and 7, with free wine and mixed drinks. The staff was very pleasant and since we arrived at 6:45 the receptionist at check-in encouraged us to rush to get our food and drinks (three per person) and then go up to our rooms.
When we finally did go up we were very pleased with what we saw. The room was one of the largest we have ever stayed in and it was spotless!! There was a lovely tiled bathroom and a large cabinet with a refrigerator and microwave. The large flat-screen TV and free WiFi made it a pleasure to stay here.
I wish there were more Drury hotels further east.

Room Tip: We like rooms at the nd of the hall, away from the elevator. There were children next door but we on...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xerete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Drury inns are a consistently good value especially for families. Free breakfasts are great and the evening kickbacks are really a good light dinner. So you basically save on two meals. Rooms have fridges, are good size, look mice and are clean. Shawnee mission Drury was no exception.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozarksun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Last minute reservations on the way to a funeral. Gave us a reduced rate in consideration of our circumstances. Drury Inns do not train their people to be friendly, they hire friendly people. We are always greeted and treated cheerfully from the front desk to maintnenance and housekeeping. The evening hot food is a definite plus.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandB-Lovers_30-yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at this property for a soccer tournament. The price was excellent. The rooms were extremely clean. It was a bit dated, but I don't care at all if it is clean. The breakfast was nice, especially for the soccer players. The staff was very kind and helpful. Definitely worth it to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlmabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have never stayed at a Drury Inn before and we were impressed. They are doing some remodeling, and gave us earplugs when we checked in. We thought, OH NO! But we never heard any construction noise at all. One reviewer said that there wasn't a pool, but there was, because our room overlooked it. The people are super friendly, the rooms are big and clean. We just had breakfast in our room (my husband brought in yougarts and coffee) so I can not really comment on the food. We missed the evening kickback, since we came for a family event, and were out both nights. And I love FREE internet. Why don't more hotels do that???? Very reasonable price. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsey1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merriam
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Merriam Shawnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
5.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission

Address: 9009 Shawnee Mission Pkwy, Merriam, KS 66202-2865
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Merriam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Price Range: $126 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission is walking distance from IKEA and is a short drive to major Kansas City shopping destinations like Country Club Plaza. Ten miles south of downtown, our hotel is off I-35 near Overland Park. Start your day with a free hot breakfast and end it with a free 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn Shawnee Mission Merriam Hotel Merriam
Drury Inn Merriam
Drury Merriam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing