We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Not only does this hotel offer breakfast, it also has light dinner options between 5:30 and 7, with free wine and mixed drinks. The staff was very pleasant and since we arrived at 6:45 the receptionist at check-in encouraged us to rush to get our food and drinks (three per person) and then go up to our rooms.
When we finally did go up we were very pleased with what we saw. The room was one of the largest we have ever stayed in and it was spotless!! There was a lovely tiled bathroom and a large cabinet with a refrigerator and microwave. The large flat-screen TV and free WiFi made it a pleasure to stay here.
I wish there were more Drury hotels further east.

Room Tip: We like rooms at the nd of the hall, away from the elevator. There were children next door but we on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xerete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    55
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
46
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Drury inns are a consistently good value especially for families. Free breakfasts are great and the evening kickbacks are really a good light dinner. So you basically save on two meals. Rooms have fridges, are good size, look mice and are clean. Shawnee mission Drury was no exception.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozarksun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
514 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Last minute reservations on the way to a funeral. Gave us a reduced rate in consideration of our circumstances. Drury Inns do not train their people to be friendly, they hire friendly people. We are always greeted and treated cheerfully from the front desk to maintnenance and housekeeping. The evening hot food is a definite plus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandB-Lovers_30-yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at this property for a soccer tournament. The price was excellent. The rooms were extremely clean. It was a bit dated, but I don't care at all if it is clean. The breakfast was nice, especially for the soccer players. The staff was very kind and helpful. Definitely worth it to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlmabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
321 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have never stayed at a Drury Inn before and we were impressed. They are doing some remodeling, and gave us earplugs when we checked in. We thought, OH NO! But we never heard any construction noise at all. One reviewer said that there wasn't a pool, but there was, because our room overlooked it. The people are super friendly, the rooms are big and clean. We just had breakfast in our room (my husband brought in yougarts and coffee) so I can not really comment on the food. We missed the evening kickback, since we came for a family event, and were out both nights. And I love FREE internet. Why don't more hotels do that???? Very reasonable price. We will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My son recommended that we stay at this hotel when we recently visited. The front desk staff were very friendly as were almost all the people we met while in KS. We were able to join the evening sampler one night and found the food satisfactory. Breakfast the next morning was better, but like most hotel buffets, nothing extraordinary. The room was comfortable and the bathroom very nice as we had to get ready for my son's wedding. We will definitely stay there again when we come to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TB_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, IA
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a nice stay. Our room had two queen sized beds. It was a bit cramped for a family, but the room was clean and even came with free 1 hour long distance call! There was a hearty free dinner as well as breakfast (Plus a popcorn machine 24 hours!).

Also, one of the staff at the front desk even called up to our room to see how we were doing! No one's ever done that for me before...

It's also a short way from The Plaza, one of Kansas City's main hot spots. It was in a good area- fairly quiet.

However, there was no pool here, which is a minor setback. That was balanced by the fact that there were large dispensers for shampoo, conditioner, and body soap. No tiny bottles for us!

Drury Inn rocked!

My blog: www.mightygirliowa.blogspot.com

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightygirliowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merriam
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Merriam
Quality Inn Merriam
#4 of 5 in Merriam
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Merriam Shawnee
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
2.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Mission
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission

Property: Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
Address: 9009 Shawnee Mission Pkwy, Merriam, KS 66202-2865
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Merriam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission is walking distance from IKEA and is a short drive to major Kansas City shopping destinations like Country Club Plaza. Ten miles south of downtown, our hotel is off I-35 near Overland Park. Start your day with a free hot breakfast and end it with a free 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn Shawnee Mission Merriam Hotel Merriam
Drury Inn Merriam
Drury Merriam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing