We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Drury Inn!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Certificate of Excellence
KS
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love Drury Inn!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My family and I had a horrible experience at a Ramada Inn in Shawnee, KS, and we fled to a nearby Drury Inn. Thank Goodness! We were greeted with smiles, cleanliness, food (free), patience, helpfulness, kindness....I cannot say enough good things about this company. Excellent accommodations and service!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjohn1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    55
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
97
46
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I stayed here for a few nights in september. Nice rom with comfortable bed and pillows, 32 inch LCD, Micro and fridge. The bathroom had for some reason a dividing wall which made it a bit narrow. The corridor smelled weird during my whole stay, but thankfully not my room. The hotel has the normal Drury nice extras, and breakfast is great. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norrbagge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, TX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stopped here on the way back from dropping off a student at college. Older property - looks like it was once something else. Not near as nice as some of the St' Louis properties I have stayed at. Room kind of stinky with deoderizer? Beds not very comfortable. Lobby non-existent. Good breakfast though and good service. Ok for a night but nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytripdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We really appreciate your comments so that we can improve our service. I am so happy to hear that the service and our free hot breakfast was good!

This location has always been a Drury hotel, but it is one of our older properties as you mentioned. The great news is that we have been tentatively scheduled to have a renovation within the next year! I definitely think this will help the appearance to be more comparable to the Drury Hotels you have stayed at in St. Louis.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Jessica Arenholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,310 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My family and I recently stayed at this location. The hotel is right off a main highway and there are multiple stores and restaurants within walking distance, to include KMart, IHOP, Denny's, and Winsteads.

The hotel offers breakfast, to include scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, waffles, donuts,yogurts, 4 cereals, and breads.

During the afternoon hours they have delicious popcorn in the lobby.

From 5-7 they offer a light dinner: baked potatoes, hotdogs, Mac & cheese, chicken tenders,nachos, and salad plus soft drinks and liquor if you have a drink card.

The rooms are quite small, and the fridge is HORRIBLE! There is no way to control the temperature and barely cools what you put in.

Overall, for the money, it is a good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynderella43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We enjoy Drury in general. The service is always outstanding. The price may seem a little high at times, but when you factor in a full hot breakfast buffet and evening snacks (with alcoholic drinks for adults), the price looks better and better.

This one is easily right off I-35 and easy to find. Front desk check in was very courteous and friendly. It's a 4-story building with ice and pop machines on every floor. The halls were always kept neat and clean, as were the rooms and bathrooms. The pool is shaded from the harsh western sun in the afternoon/evening, which was nice. My only complaint about the room is that there aren't enough electrical outlets - especially in this day and age where everything plugs in or at the very least needs to be plugged in to charge. Blowdryers and irons/ironing boards are already in the room.

Room Tip: bring a power strip if you have electronics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GORDONCHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here during a recent trip to Kansas City for a concert at Arrowhead. The extras this hotel offers definetely give them the 5 rating. Hot breakfast, evening meal, popcorn, pop...the amount of money we saved on not buying meals was worth the extra $10 a night it cost to stay here. Staff were all very nice. Just be aware, this is quite a ways from the metro area, although it didn't take us much time to get to the stadium from here, it took us 2 hours to get home. Rooms weren't anything special, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDTravelerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family and I stayed here for three nights. Check in and check out were a breeze. The room was great. It was clean and nicely furnished. They had a new flat screen TV, recliner, desk, several lamps, and a bench. We were easily able to rearrange the furniture to make it safe for our 15 month old. The bed was comfortable and at one point all four of us were sleeping in it with plenty of room (we have a 15 month old and a 7 year old). The a/c was able to keep the room cool. The shower/toilet area was a bit small but sufficient. The shower head provided a nice strong shower.

The room was pretty well insulated and quiet for the most part. The first night there was a softball team surrounding us in other rooms and we didn't hear them at all. The last night we could hear the people in the room above us through the ceiling. I think the lady was just a loud talker and we couldn't hear her well unless we turned the a/c off.

The best and most budget friendly part of our stay was the included breakfast and "snack" which was really dinner. Breakfast consisted of waffles, biscuits and gravy, eggs, ham/cheese/salsa for the eggs, french toast, donuts, and fruit. It was consistently hot and fresh. The snack time served as our dinner. They had baked potatoes, hot dogs, chili, nachos, macaroni and cheese, and taco meat/beans while we were there. They also include three complimentary alcoholic drinks per adult each evening. We save money and time by not having to get out and drive to a restaurant every morning and evening. The only down side was that the dining room was hot every evening, BUt we are in the middle of a heat wave.

We spent two evenings in the pool. It was pretty clean and was busy with all the kids and the heat.

The hotel is conveniently located next to the highway but you can't hear the noise. There is a Krispy Kreme, Denny's, and Caribou Coffee right there.
We will definitely be staying here again when we return to KC.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merriam
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Merriam
Quality Inn Merriam
#4 of 5 in Merriam
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Merriam Shawnee
5.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission

Property: Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
Address: 9009 Shawnee Mission Pkwy, Merriam, KS 66202-2865
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Merriam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission is walking distance from IKEA and is a short drive to major Kansas City shopping destinations like Country Club Plaza. Ten miles south of downtown, our hotel is off I-35 near Overland Park. Start your day with a free hot breakfast and end it with a free 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn Shawnee Mission Merriam Hotel Merriam
Drury Inn Merriam
Drury Merriam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing