We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the middle of Kansas!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in McPherson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very nice accommodations. The bed and pillows are to die for!! Friendly staff, great breakfast. Only drawback is the street leading to the hotel. Rough and full of potholes. They need to have the city address that issue if they want to continue to be THE place to stay in McPherson.

Room Tip: Did not affect me, but saw another review that said you don't want a room near the west end if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnMarie K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you are able to relax and be you! We truly value your patronage and do look forward to seeing you in the future, we will always ensure that our guests feel comfortable, valued, respected, safe, welcomed and appreciated by our staff at all times! If you need further assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me any time. Travel safely, and as always, thank you for Staying Smart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 118 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

I thought the people were very nice, the breakfast very good and the rooms nice. I had the room above me flood in the shower and then flooded my bathroom. The management was very good to take care of the issue and move me the second night. I would give them a 5 if that had not rocked me out of bed the first night.

Room Tip: Take a top floor not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertSummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnMarie K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for your review, I am so glad we were able handle the flooding situation. I am glad that you were able to relax and Be You, I will pass along your satisfaction to my delightful staff! We truly value your patronage and do look forward to seeing you in the future, we will always ensure that our guests feel comfortable, valued, respected, safe, welcomed and appreciated by our staff at all times! If you need further assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me any time. Travel safely, and as always, thank you for Staying Smart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had booked a room for 5 nights at another hotel which turned out to be a nightmare! I tried to get a room at any other hotel but everyone was sold out. After two nights at the other place I walked into the Holiday inn and asked the front desk if they could possibly find room for me. They were gracious enough to put me in a suite, the last room they had. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the accommodations are wonderful! Very clean, very nice furnishings, great complimentary breakfast. Thanks to Holiday Inn Express, the rest of my stay was very enjoyable!

Room Tip: The best place to stay when in McPherson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammyb1853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hie67460, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are so glad we were able to turn your trip around for you. I will report your satisfaction to my staff. Here at the Holiday Inn Express of McPherson, KS we truly value your patronage and do look forward to seeing you in the future, we will always ensure that our guests feel comfortable, valued, respected, safe, welcomed and appreciated by our staff at all times! If you need further assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me any time. Travel safely, and as always, thank you for Staying Smart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

First let me say that McPherson is a wonderful town with lots of fun shops and folks, it may not look like it as the area right off the freeway is not the whole town but some shopping! We stayed here for our daughter's Graduation from Central Christian College. Nice Hotel, Great Staff. Quiet, good breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmyWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hie67460, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your most recent stay with our property. We are glad that you were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us. I will pass along your satisfaction to my staff.

We truly value your patronage and do look forward to seeing you in the future, we will always ensure that our guests feel comfortable, valued, respected, safe, welcomed and appreciated by our staff at all times! If you need further assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me any time. Travel safely, and as always, thank you for Staying Smart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Our vehicle broke down in this town, and from the looks of the surroundings we weren't thrilled about being stuck here... until we walked into this HIE.

The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. We were able to check in early, and considering we were extremely exhausted- this was appreciated. Very clean and spacious room. Thumbs up to HIE for having HBO. This isn't unique to this location, but it's appreciated every time we stay at one.

Good location. Walmart nearby, and a few casual dining options. I like when I don't have to venture into an unknown town to get a few things that I need from the store.

Enjoyed the fitness center, but wished they had an elliptical in there. We were hoping to spend some time in the jacuzzi, but it was broken. Not a deal breaker for me personally, but something other reviewers might want to take note of.

The breakfast was good, minus the scrambled eggs. They normally aren't good at HIE, but they were especially bad here. Old? Not prepared correctly? Thank goodness for hard boiled eggs!

Pleasant stay. Looked at rates during the week, and they seemed pretty high. Perhaps the increase in rates during the week is due to business travelers or oil field workers. Would recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hie67460, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review of our property. We are so glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable even in light of an inconvenient situation. I will be sure to let the staff know about your satisfaction. Here at the Holiday Inn Express of McPherson, Ks we truly value your patronage and do look forward to seeing you in the future, we will always ensure that our guests feel comfortable, valued, respected, safe, welcomed and appreciated by our staff at all times! If you need further assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me any time. Travel safely, and as always, thank you for Staying Smart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, as are most Holiday Inn Express properties, except for a serious noise problem. This one is very close to I-135 and to railroad tracks and there was more noise when the heater/AC unit's fan switched on and off during the night. Then at 7:00 am on Saturday morning a trash truck emptied the dumpsters practically beneath our window. As a result we had very little sleep. A room away from the dumpsters would be closer to the highway, but maybe better. The bed and chairs were comfortable. Lighting was adequate for reading. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: The dumpsters are on the west end. If they are not going to be emptied when you are there it is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hie67460, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest~

We wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so sorry that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us, how frustrating it must be to be in a place where you pay for sleep but are unable to get the rest you deserve. Here at the Holiday Inn Express we do strive to deliver consistently high quality service in an inviting and sophisticated atmosphere: we our guests to truly enjoy their stay with us to be able to relax, unwind and truly "be you". I will be sure to pass along your review to my staff. We truly value your patronage and do look forward to seeing you in the future, when we will always ensure that our guests feel comfortable, valued, respected, safe, welcomed and appreciated by our staff at all times! If you need further assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me any time. Travel safely, and as always, thank you for Staying Smart.

Best Regards,
Dawn Marie
Hotel Manager
620-241-5566

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great hotel and a clean room! We enjoyed our visit and the two nights we spent at this Holiday Inn Express. Very nice facility! The breakfast is very nice and the selection was very fresh. I enjoyed warm cookies one evening but they were not out the second night.

Room Tip: I would ask if the garbage truck was coming to pick up because we were shocked that the trash truck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hie67460, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest~

We wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax, unwind and truly "be you". Here at the Holiday Inn Express we do strive to deliver consistently high quality service in an inviting and sophisticated atmosphere. I will be sure to pass your satisfaction and review on to my staff. We truly value your patronage and do look forward to seeing you in the future, we will always ensure that our guests feel comfortable, valued, respected, safe, welcomed and appreciated by our staff at all times! If you need further assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me any time. Travel safely, and as always, thank you for Staying Smart.

Best Regards,
Dawn Marie
Hotel Manager
620-241-5566

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McPherson
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn McPherson
Hampton Inn McPherson
#1 of 7 in McPherson
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor
0.0 mi away
Days Inn McPherson
Days Inn McPherson
#5 of 7 in McPherson
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge McPherson
Econo Lodge McPherson
#4 of 7 in McPherson
51 reviews
19.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 2 in Hesston
122 reviews
14.7 mi away
No photo provided
Viking Motel
#3 of 3 in Lindsborg
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 2302 E Kansas Ave, McPherson, KS 67460-4002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > McPherson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in McPherson
Price Range: $101 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of McPherson Kansas Enjoy a welcoming stay with us in the heartland! Our property is located at the intersection of I-135 and K-56 a short drive from Wichita and the Wichita Airport. You are sure to enjoy all the comfortable amenities that we have to offer such as free breakfast, 24 hour fitness and business center, microwaves and refrigerators in every room, our friendly local staff, as well as our convenient location to several attractions in this charming community. McPherson are attractions include the McPherson Water Park, Turkey Creek Golf Course and the McPherson Opera House. The Maxwell Wildlife Refuge and the McPherson Valley Wetlands and Little Sweden are also nearby. Make business enjoyable by staying YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Mcpherson
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Mcpherson
Mcpherson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing