We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Accommodations & Pet Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge McPherson
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in McPherson
Reviewed April 11, 2012

On April 1st, 2012, we embarked on a trip from Longmont, Colorado to Gatesville, Texas.
We (my wife, 6 year old daughter and our cat) were traveling in a 17' U-Haul truck with a trailer, and it was past 9:00 pm and we needed to find a place to stay for the night.
We saw the Econo Lodge sign from the highway and took the exit into McPherson.
I was very pleased to find that we had plenty of room to pull in our U-Haul to register for the night.
The lobby was open (and is open 24 hrs) so we did not have to deal with a person through one of those "security" windows. The gentleman at the counter was very friendly and courteous.
Before taking our trip I had done some online searches trying to determine what price we might have to pay and I was expecting to pay about $40 more than what this place charged us.
A concern of ours was our cat, and we were very happy to find that our cat was welcome for a nominal charge ($10). This especially made my daughter very happy as our cat could stay in the room with us
We were assigned a room that was non-smoking & pet friendly. There was more than enough room to park our U-Haul and to pull around the building.
The facility has WiFi (which is a must these days) and they supplied me with what I needed at the front desk. The funny thing is that there was a McDonald's next door (another plus in our book) and since I spend time at McDonald's with my daughter in the play area, my laptop automatically logged into the McDonald's signal, which worked very well from the distance so never had to use the in house WiFi.
The room was very nice and clean and overall this was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay after 12 hours of traveling.
Check out time is 12 noon so there is no need to rush up in the morning if you do not have to. They serve a continental breakfast too, take advantage of it or you can visit the McDonald's on one side, or the Perkins restaurant on the other side (we got 10% off at Perkins for staying here).
Check out was just as friendly as check in and the gentleman at the counter even located the cheapest gas around so I didn't have to pay the "Interstate gas price" of the station next door.
I would definitely stop here again in the future and recommend anyone who is traveling and wants a nice, clean, friendly place to stay at a very reasonable price to drop in and give them your business.
Personally, reading a few of the negative reviews on the side of this web page, I have to wonder where they stayed as this was NOT my experience here. Door was secure, security lock worked along with the "latch lock". Plenty of toilet paper, ice available at the front area and adequate towels. Beds are a bit firmer than what I am use to but what I expect from a hotel so no sleep lost over it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond022456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemang B, Manager at Econo Lodge McPherson, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you Mr. Raymond022456 for your compliments and feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stays with us. We put great effort on our room condition and cleanliness and also we do our best to give a good customer service. We welcome all guests that would like to bring along their companion animal. We know your Pet is one of your family member. I hope we were able to put in the room that was closed to field so you could take your pet to walk around.
Thank you once again for your feedback. We were very glad that you choose us on when making a trip through McPherson, KS. We will be happy to see you again.
Thank you once again Mr. Raymond022456

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge McPherson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 51 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

While the rooms were fairly clean, the beds were uncomfortable and the housekeeping was rationing toilet paper and toiletries. We had to go to the front desk to get toilet paper because they didn't leave any and towels because they weren't leaving enough. The security door latch was also broken. We reported it, but it was not fixed.
The breakfast was nothing to write home about. It was not fresh.
This place is not up to fire code. All but one exit light in the courtyard was burned out. The ceiling in the pool room is falling in. The pool and hot tub were also cold and unusable. Most of the 'attractions' in the courtyard are broken and unusable.
Had we not been staying with a group (reserved through someone else), we would have left immediately!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemang B, General Manager at Econo Lodge McPherson, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your response Andra R. We apology for uncomfortable stay at Econo Lodge in Mcpherson, KS. We are sorry but the housekeeper might have forgot to put toilet paper in room. They were really Busy, and they were putting the towels that suppose to go in room. Every Single guest was asking extra towels to housekeeper, and they were doing their best. Also we apology for courtyard entertainment games, we had to call a company that owned those games, they came and fix the game for us. The guy told us that some one was putting pennies in the games. Also We are sorry about the Exit light, it stop working, but its fixed and working fine now. We are looking forward to get better. Give us a one chance..
Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This room was nasty, the carpet was filthy, the room stunk, called the front desk, for another remote, said they would get us one, never heard from them again..
the grounds needed to be cleaned up, broken bottles and litter everywhere, the water in shower would burn you one minute, and freeze you the next, the blanket on the bed, was old and torn---- dont stay there!!!!

Room Tip: Go to the Days Inn.....
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brumleylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemang B, Manager at Econo Lodge McPherson, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank You for your response Brumleylis. We apology for a bad experience you had with us at your Last Stay. There were a misunderstood about a Remote Control, Because Desk Clerk thought you were coming to office to get new remote and you thought desk clerk were coming to bring you one. We are sorry about that.
We are also sorry about blanket on your bed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I would stay here again, but I would not recommend to a friend. Also the pool was closed, due to technical difficulties.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Haggerty25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemang B, Manager at Econo Lodge McPherson, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for your response Haggerty25. We Apology for any inconvenience at your stay with Econo Lodge in McPherson, KS. We looking forward for better service at your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were going to stay in this dump for our family reunion until they told us there was no HOT water for three days! After distubing the manger from his favorite TV show, we decided to check out and ask for a full refund. The ammenties were a joke! The Pool was CLOSED because the PH was way off! Most of the arcade games were broken or out of service. There were so many corners cut that I doubt the bedding was cleaned everyday. This hotel should be shut down or condemned. This hotel is giving Ecnolodge a bad name!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragnar2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

After reading the last comment about the brown recluse spiders, this review will seem trivial! We "attempted" to stay at this hotel for a family reunion over Memorial Day weekend. We had a total of 6 rooms. NO HOT WATER, THE POOL WAS CLOSED, AIR CONDITIONING DID NOT WORK IN ONE ROOM, and other minor issues. When asked about the lack of hot water on Saturday, they orignally promised it would be on; however, later said we would be out of hot water until Tuesday as they couldn't (more like they were too cheap!!), to get anyone to repair. When we confronted management, they indicated they had called a few repairmen and couldn't find anyone so they stopped trying. They started calling again when we were there and mentioned that they could SMELL GAS...but couldn't get the pilot light lit...lovely, gas & fire a great comination! We checked out of the hotel at about 8 p.m. that evening and requested our money back...By the way, I killed a spider which looked very similar to a picture of a brown recluse in the bathtub in my mom's room.

The management at this hotel has absolutely no clue as to what is required in the hospitality/hotel business. The fact they could let 100+ guests go without hot water for multiple days is ridiculous; however, add in the brown recluse issue and non-working pool with ceiling falling in...and THIS PLACE SHOULD BE CLOSED!

On a positive note, I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DIRECTLY ACROSS THE STREET!! Wonderful service, excellent breakfast, fabulous pool -- felt like a five star hotel -- honestly, cannot say enough about the place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler52011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Yikes! No hot water, ceiling falling in the murky pool, but the scary part was the brown recluse spiders! Two dead one on the floor when we check in. should have walked right back out. Live one climbing the wall the next morning. Glad they kids didn't get bitten! This place should be closed down until they get the situation fixed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grilledcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McPherson
0.1 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor
0.3 mi away
Days Inn McPherson
Days Inn McPherson
#5 of 7 in McPherson
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn McPherson
Hampton Inn McPherson
#2 of 7 in McPherson
68 reviews
14.3 mi away
No photo provided
Coronado Motel and RV Park
#2 of 3 in Lindsborg
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge McPherson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge McPherson

Address: 2111 E Kansas Ave, McPherson, KS 67460-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > McPherson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in McPherson
Price Range: $52 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge McPherson 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge McPherson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing