We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Folks”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mayetta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prairie Band Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayetta
Kansas City, Mo.
Level Contributor
251 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Friendly Folks”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A recent 2 night stay. I was with a golf buddy, and we "Stayed & Played". The golf course is of very good quality, and the Hotel/Casino is well run. All the resort staff we encountered seemed to be trained to be attentive, and friendly. I will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuttman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    21
    18
    19
See reviews for
25
70
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Casino and the food choices are fantastic! Its Clean, Its small, its well planned out. The gaming room was great fun. The men in our group had a fun day of golf! However, We made reservations weeks in advance to stay in the hotel for my son and his girlfiends 21st birthday. I booked two rooms with two queen sized beds at the suggestion of the very friendly lady on the phone. When we arrived the rooms did not have two beds in each we were given two rooms with king sized beds, or the bath that I was so looking forward to. We had a party of 6 plus a senior, and a junior. Unfortunately we were told by a manager that " You dont always get what you reserve". And that she hoped our family was close. (comment uncalled for) Because there was nothing she could do. We asked for our money back except the golf, and were told no. We asked for some sort of comp, perhaps dinner for the members of our party who had to drive two hours back home due to the sleeping arrangements again we were told no, that a roll away would be added to both rooms. Well that was the only thing they got right, because I had requested that in the first place. I would have booked three rooms if I knew reserving was really not reserving. So be ware if you plan to stay the night. I would plan on playing and not staying if I were you. I will never do either again.

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying the night. if you do I would check in at 8 am not wait til the 4pm che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mayetta hotels

Abilene, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice rooms, great courtyard complete with waterfall jacuzzi pool and hot tub jacuzzi. Open flame gas fire pits with plenty of outdoor seating to relax even in the winter time. Excellent restaurants and The new Firekeeper Golf Course is 5 star excellent.
Only negative is the smokiness.

Room Tip: ask for non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkuntz2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to go. They keep the place in good shape. We eat at the buffet pretty regularly since we live nearby. Steakhouse is pretty good also. Like the gaming but win less here than at other casinos. I am a decent gambler and know how to play. Overall it is a good place to go. Usually pretty busy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank furpie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MIssouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel was generally nice. The rooms have been redone, and the bed and bathrooms are very nice. The main problem is that the smoke from the casino has permeated everything. Even clothes that were only in the hotel room reeked of smoke. I can't say whether they have non-smoking rooms or not. We requested one, but still came away smelling of smoke and having to wash everything we took with us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We live in Kansas City so Topeka is a ninety minute drive for us. We met some other couples at the Firekeeper Golf Course, played 18 holes, and then stayed at the hotel afterwards. Golf course was very nice and people there are very helpful and friendly--many thanked us for coming when we told them we were from KC. Cart attendants went over the course with us and showed us a card that explains the course and yardage to each green from the tee. Hotel has a wonderful courtyard with two hot tubs, a fire pit and tables and chairs. Rooms were very clean, king sized bed, large bathroom, with refrigerator and coffee pot. We ate at the steakhouse where you can get a variety of foods-- hamburgers, fish, ribs or steak. If this is your first stay--go to the casino check in at the back of the casino and they will give you a $25 voucher to gamble. To initiate the voucher, you have to put some of your own money in--you don't have to match the $25--we put in $6 one time and $5 the next. We ate the Sunday brunch--$12.99 for a large variety of breakfast and lunch items. It's a nice get away to do with with friends. Hotel comabo/golf with cart was $219 for the couple.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Kansas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Very nice staff! We stayed in the garden tower. Our room had a king size bed, huge bathtub/shower. Room was great and bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. There were 2 hot tubs outdoors. The casino was alot of fun. Many games to choose from. There are 3 restaurants, we liked the buffet the best. If you're a golfer, we golfed the Firekeeper golf course which was across the road from hotel. This was a great course and the staff very friendly. I would highly recommend the hotel as well as the golf course.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahappygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayetta
9.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Holton
Red Roof Inn Holton
#2 of 3 in Holton
65 reviews
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Holton
Super 8 Holton
#1 of 3 in Holton
131 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 32 in Topeka
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
17.9 mi away
Best Western Topeka Inn & Suites
17.9 mi away
Ramada Topeka West
Ramada Topeka West
#23 of 32 in Topeka
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie Band Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie Band Casino & Resort

Property: Prairie Band Casino & Resort
Address: 12305 150th Road, Mayetta, KS 66509-8815 (Formerly Harrah's)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Mayetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 297
Also Known As:
Prairie Band Casino And Resort
Prairie Band Hotel Mayetta
Prairie Band Resort
Harrahs Prairie Band Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing