We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Inn - Manhattan
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Manhattan
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
“Great Experience!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

I heard about this hotel through Kansas State University. I knew this was an older hotel, but the remodeling that has been done looks great. The pool area is wonderful and I give it an A+. The staff was extremely helpful and I felt very welcome. I plan to stay again next time I'm in Manhattan.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    5
    4
    34
See reviews for
22
1
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

I knew that this hotel was still being remolding. But i found the staff very helpful. The pool was great. I hope that the hotel is finish by fooyball season. I will stay here again over labor day .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankee land
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

I arrived at 3:30 pm. Check in time was at 3 pm but my room was not ready. Since I could not get in my room, I could not change clothes and try the pool. (Assuming the pool was open. Perhaps it hadn't been renovated either.) The outside temperature was over 90.

Supposedly the rooms had been renovated. All of the fixtures and ceiling in the bathroom were old. Actually they were in the process of renovating. There was a refrigerator in the room, set on high, but it wasn't cooling because someone brilliant person had not plugged it in. Same for one of the lamps that didn't work -- no one had plugged it in. The renovation job was in process and rather sloppy and spotty.

What made the place intolerable was that I had been promised a hot breakfast that did not materialize. The breakfast room was hot and no one in attendance. When I went to the office (Regency Inn in another building) to ask about the breakfast, I was told that the waffle iron didn't work and that the clerk had only found half a loaf of bread to set out. After I pressed him, telling him that if I had known that there would be no breakfast I would have brought my own food, I was given a discount. But all of this hassle killed my intention for an early start. The only place we could find that was open before 9 am was IHOP. We tried to order their cheapest discount but it was still double the discount on the room. It also delayed us by 2 hours.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myz099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Do not stay here. The atmosphere is frightening. The room had a caved in ceiling, mols and filth. The staff refused to not charge our credit card even though we were in the room for less than five minutes. Will settle the matter legally-but wish to warn others-one would be better off with a tent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadmom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manhattan hotels

Denisa50
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2010

I have traveled all over the world and have never had such a fiasco happen to me as did at this place.

Apparently the hotel had just finished renovating it's outer most building. On the weekend we were there, there were basketball games going on, so several hotels had no vacancy. This hotel over booked in it's renovated building, so they put my daughter and I into the old building which we later found out had been shut down and readied for renovation.. According to the front desk manager, the heat was not turned on in our building until approx 1 hour before we arrived. It was 16 degrees outside and the cold air radiated from the floor, walls and tile in the bathroom. It was so cold that we couldn't keep our teeth from chattering long enough to call home and tell our family that we had made it to Kansas safely. There was mold along the baseboard in the bathroom and the tub drain was encased in rust. The only lock on the door was a rusty slide chain. The carpet was filthy and the smell in the room permeated our clothes and hair in the 45 or so minutes that we actually spent in the room. We were cold and very afraid to stay in this dank moldy smelling room. When I went to the front desk, the front dest mgr, Megan agreed to cancel my reservation, if I would have a Priceline Rep call her. So we turned in our keys to Megan and left to find a decent safe place for two women to stay 1000 miles from home. An hour later after getting a room at Fairfield Inn Marriott, I had Priceline call Megan at approx 6pm, but she had left for the day. That is when it got really ugly when "Bob" the G.M. came on the phone and screamed and yelled in his thick accent that he was not going to cancel my reservation. He further said it was not his problem. I would not have let my pets stay in that flithy, dangerous place. My daughter was there for an interview for Vet Med School at K-State...so this was a very important time to her. Being safe and getting a good night sleep was crucial for her Sat. morning interview. As a parent I could not let her spend the night before dealing with the horror of that place. As an adult, I had to get us somewhere safe for the night as we were very afraid in that room. In hind sight, I do wish we had taken some photos of these things, because it is hard for anyone to believe that someone would rent out a room in that shape.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denisa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manhattan hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
0.9 mi away
Bluemont Hotel
Bluemont Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manhattan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manhattan Inn
BEST WESTERN Manhattan Inn
#6 of 16 in Manhattan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 16 in Manhattan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Manhattan at The Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn - Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn - Manhattan

Property: Royal Inn - Manhattan
Address: 1501 Tuttle Creek Blvd, Manhattan, KS 66502-4565 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > Kansas > Manhattan
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Manhattan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn - Manhattan 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Inn - Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Manhattan Hotel Manhattan
Econo Lodge Manhattan
Manhattan Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing