We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Grill

The Little Grill
Ranked #27 of 184 Restaurants in Manhattan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Jamaican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I went to the Little Grill today after work with some colleagues. I really liked the atmosphere, which was very fun, although that may have had something to do with music festival starting just down the street.

I'm not super familiar with Jamaican food, as I've only been to Jamaica for one meal, so can't vouch for authenticity, but it was enjoyable. What would bring me back is the great staff and laid-back atmosphere.

One thing that I really appreciated is that, although it's not on the menu, there is a special vegetarian option if you know to ask for it. It was certainly nice for my colleague to be able to have as nice a meal as the rest of us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jolene79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solomon, Kansas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Really enjoyed the Llittle Grill. Nice out of the way location. I actually remember the building from when it was a bar in the early 70s. The inside was clean and nicely decorated. Our waiter (jojo?) was great. Very friendly and informative. Started with a Red Stripe beer for my husband and a Jamaican margarita for me. My drink was very tasty. We choose 2 of the specials of the day. The meats (jerked beef steak and pork steak, pork chop, and shrimp) were good cuts and well prepared. Fried plantains and grilled pineapple were good. The red beans and rice was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxed and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

It's... relaxed. I think that's a nice way to put it. Don't go if you're in a hurry, but the food is delicious. Special concerts most nights are great too.

Helpful?
Thank FuhTeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamego, Kansas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently attended a birthday party with 25 in attendance. The food and service were wonderful and we were served with politeness and in a timely manner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phototaker872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Manhattan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Consistantly great food and atmosphere. Live music, Jamaican food and wonderfully decorated. What more could you ask for?

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelsee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Little Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing