We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seth Childs and Anderson Ave.
Description: 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar opened in July of 2004 with such culinary specialties as: fresh fish, wild game, local ingredients, and artisan cheeses. The ambiance of the restaurant can be described as upscale contemporary, the dining room itself surrounds a large glass wine cave. The featured style of cuisine is a Contemporary-American menu with global influences, emphasized by extremely fresh, made-to-order items. Every item is made in house. Our desserts are prepared by our talented pastry chef, and Scott’s wife, Rachel Benjamin. The bar menu consists of well-crafted, classic cocktails using fresh juices and premium spirits with over 400 fine spirits, 60 beers, and 800 wines which are kept in our temperature controlled, glass wine cave.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have been giving this restaurant several tries since it first opened. Food is less, but over priced for their quality and service. Wine was abundant in our glass when it first opened. Now the wine is maybe half the quantity in the glass? Last time it was our anniversary dinner, but we did not feel special. Need to improve their servers and increased food quantity for the price we pay. Hope they read all the reviews to make their place of good concept exceptional. Another well established local restaurant in this city has the most exceptional service, consistent good food, wonderful atmosphere, and price is 1/2 to 1/3 less cost.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MwAvEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottB329, Owner at 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your service was not acceptable & that we did not pick up on the fact that you were celebrating an anniversary. We want everyone's experience at 4 Olives to be memorable, but the ones most important to you mean more to us as well. These issues will be discussed & remedied immediately. Regarding the wine pours, portion size is 5oz & we measure ever pour. However, it's our fault for giving you such a large glass instead of the proper stemware. Our hope is that you understand & will consider giving us another try sometime. Sincerely, Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    12
    8
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a shame the service is bad”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

For such a great concept and with everything this restaurant represents it really is a shame that is was completely destroyed by its terrible service. Food was ok but overpriced, wine list and loch ol listings were amazing.

Go for drinks, but never to eat. Service ruined it for me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abizzle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottB329, Owner at 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for providing us with your input and for the compliment about our wine lists. However, we would like to apologize for the service we provided you. Poor service is not tolerated here at 4 Olives & your concerns will be addressed with our wait staff at once. That said, we would greatly appreciate it if you gave us another chance sometime to show you that we have improved in this area. Sincerely, Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont bother....”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Poor service. Loooong wait. I dont like how the restaurant is decorated. Waitresses was rude.
Oysters were not fresh.
Prices are not reflecting quality of meal or service.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mads K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our anniversary celebration was perfect at 4 Olives. The entrees are always presented "with a flair", hot and delicious. While we were enjoying our wine from their extensive wine list, we were given complimentary tastes of the featured small plate.The chef frequently will come into the dining room to visit with guests. Great restaurant!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyinDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottB329, Owner at 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are so honored to have been apart of your anniversary celebration Nancy! We appreciate your compliments of our food, it really means a lot to us to hear you enjoyed all of the aspects of your dinner! We love hearing customer feedback & we will be sure to pass your sentiments along to the staff! Please come back and see us again soon! Best Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful Decadence”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Don't let the location deceive you. Once you step into this fantastic little find, you will quickly discover that it isn't little at all, and it is, in itself an epicurean adventure. From cocktails, wines, spirits, to appetizers, dinner, desserts to after-dinner drinks, 4 Olives provides the overall dining experience. Meticulous care shows through the ambience, the alcohol selection, pairings and culinary creations. This is a treat when you want to take time to enjoy a meal with good company, or simply to enjoy on your own. It is on my list to take family, dear friends, important guests, or if I simply want to treat myself! The cocktail history was quite enjoyable and our attendant was very engaging. The owner takes the time to educate his staff who can in turn assist guests in making great choices. Very Nice! Thank you, and I wish you continued success!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GamerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottB329, Owner at 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! To hear such wonderful comments about our restaurant makes all of us very proud! It is greatly appreciated! We look forward to passing your sentiments along to our entire staff & we look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing