We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Place”

4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Bar, Greek, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seth Childs and Anderson Ave.
Description: 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar opened in July of 2004 with such culinary specialties as: fresh fish, wild game, local ingredients, and artisan cheeses. The ambiance of the restaurant can be described as upscale contemporary, the dining room itself surrounds a large glass wine cave. The featured style of cuisine is a Contemporary-American menu with global influences, emphasized by extremely fresh, made-to-order items. Every item is made in house. Our desserts are prepared by our talented pastry chef, and Scott’s wife, Rachel Benjamin. The bar menu consists of well-crafted, classic cocktails using fresh juices and premium spirits with over 400 fine spirits, 60 beers, and 800 wines which are kept in our temperature controlled, glass wine cave.
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
515 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our anniversary celebration was perfect at 4 Olives. The entrees are always presented "with a flair", hot and delicious. While we were enjoying our wine from their extensive wine list, we were given complimentary tastes of the featured small plate.The chef frequently will come into the dining room to visit with guests. Great restaurant!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyinDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottB329, Owner at 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are so honored to have been apart of your anniversary celebration Nancy! We appreciate your compliments of our food, it really means a lot to us to hear you enjoyed all of the aspects of your dinner! We love hearing customer feedback & we will be sure to pass your sentiments along to the staff! Please come back and see us again soon! Best Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    12
    8
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Junction City, Kansas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful Decadence”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Don't let the location deceive you. Once you step into this fantastic little find, you will quickly discover that it isn't little at all, and it is, in itself an epicurean adventure. From cocktails, wines, spirits, to appetizers, dinner, desserts to after-dinner drinks, 4 Olives provides the overall dining experience. Meticulous care shows through the ambience, the alcohol selection, pairings and culinary creations. This is a treat when you want to take time to enjoy a meal with good company, or simply to enjoy on your own. It is on my list to take family, dear friends, important guests, or if I simply want to treat myself! The cocktail history was quite enjoyable and our attendant was very engaging. The owner takes the time to educate his staff who can in turn assist guests in making great choices. Very Nice! Thank you, and I wish you continued success!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GamerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottB329, Owner at 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! To hear such wonderful comments about our restaurant makes all of us very proud! It is greatly appreciated! We look forward to passing your sentiments along to our entire staff & we look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great atmosphere, food, drinks, and especially wine! Best place to impress a date and take out your wife for a special occasion or just because.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MasCabron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottB329, Owner at 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience here at 4 Olives! We try very hard to provide excellent food, service & atmosphere to all of our guests; so to hear we accomplished that with you makes us very proud! We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon! Sincerely, Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fabulous food. Beautiful presentation. The bartenders are so knowledgeable! The food is amazing. It's pricey, but worth it. It's our go to spot for any special occasion. Just drinks and a cheese tray are delightful there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottB329, Owner at 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are so happy to hear you enjoy our food & service Missy! We agree, you can never go wrong with one of our cheese platters & a classic cocktail! Hope you will come back soon! Sincerely, Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rathernotshare
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Food is okay and presented well, but they believe their own hype...............do not have a great staff or change up the menu enough for all the snobbery. Just okay.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank doglover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottB329, Owner at 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are disappointed to hear that your experiences with us have been mediocre. We know that we don't always hit it out of the park with every guest; but we are constantly looking for ways to improve. We do offer weekend Prix Fixe specials that continually change week to week, which we would like for you to check out sometime. Sincerely, Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing