We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but not the best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Zoo

Sunset Zoo
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Manhattan
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad but not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It is a good local zoo. I attended a kid's birthday party here. We had ice cream cake and the zoo personnel took the original box so there was no way to save the leftovers... It is a small zoo, but I would not recommend it for get togethers.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank brghteyez33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    43
    31
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good zoo for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a small zoo with lots of shady areas and nice landscaping. Have not been to the new building. Always a good place to take children, not too big, petting zoo, playground.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kansaskayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We have gone twice to this zoo since we moved out here. It's not huge but it does have quite a few animals to see. Our favorite was the anteater. He came right up close to the fence and I was able to get some really good pictures of it. They have peacocks that wander the grounds. They also have a playground area to play at. For a smaller zoo they have a very good variety of animals. I highly recommend a trip to this zoo.

Helpful?
Thank Bethanysinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dardenne Prairie, Missouri
Level Contributor
239 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice little Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you have a couple hours to kill on a pretty day, check out this zoo. Only $4 for adults and a nice surprise in the middle of Manhattan, KS.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“under construction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

They are working on a big visitor area. There are some neat animals such as the sloth bear, bengal tiger several showy peacocks and curious and a bit creepy looking heinas. Not terribly expensive but the staff was not freindly at all.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing