We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hibachi fun!”

UMI Steakhouse & Sushi
Ranked #15 of 187 Restaurants in Manhattan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“hibachi fun!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

hibachi food was really good. the chefs placed a good show. but i have been to other hibachi places and they have been better. the sushi and sashimi were the best though. yummy! service was kinda slow as they were waiting for the whole table to be filled up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Detcabmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and Ton's of Fun!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We took a group of folks to eat and ended up here. You need to call ahead to make a reservation and we were seated soon after. We chose to have the Hibachi dinner which means they seat you at a square table with other groups of people and cook right in front of you. Out cook was very good and also very entertaining. You get to watch them first cook the rice, then once everyone was served rice, the cook assembles and cooks the main dish. Our cook was very capable and the food was wonderful! There was high flames and lots of flashy knife work, along with some shrimp tossing. If you care to participate he will toss pieces of shrimp in your mouth from 4' away! Probably not a good thing if you're allergic to seafood..... Worth the high price of the meal just for the entertainment factor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loads of Fun!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great dinner out with the family. We had a great time of good food and a great chef! My daughter even caught a couple of shrimps. We did wait quite a long time, but it was worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Adore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
“Took an hour to get our drink orders”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service was terrible, Took an hour before we got a server, then the manager didn't even come out to apologize. What a joke. The hibachi cook puts on a good show and the food was alright but I won't go back to a place that treats customers like that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gideon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altus, Oklahoma, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fire me up!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Food was greaf and entertainment even better. Grandkids had a blast watching the cook ptepare the food. They were accomodatong to special dietary needs. I would go back in a heart beat. Expect to pay a little more and expect fun

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UMI Steakhouse & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to UMI Steakhouse & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing