We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Chef Cafe

The Chef Cafe
Ranked #1 of 187 Restaurants in Manhattan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Vassar
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a great little Manhattan jewel. Loved the coffee which we were able to have as we stood in line waiting for our table. Service was fast. Coffee cup was always full and food was incredible. I almost licked my plate clean. A must for any one who visits Manhattan and those who live there are so lucky to be able to eat here everyday !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyB598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    77
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yay for yummy pancakes the size of my face!!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great food, great staff, great price! I am SO happy I found this place...and see myself spending ALOT of time here while we live in Kansas! MmmmMmmmGood!
(Kid friendly too. They had a toy bin, crayons, and drawing paper to entertain my little one.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c_bear311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere & unique menu”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We frequent this restaurant & really enjoy the atmosphere for breakfast. Go early or it will be packed! Favorite menu items: smothered breakfast burrito, biscuits & gravy, and the breakfast quesadilla. Their "gravy sauce" is unique -- best I have had! We also like their pancakes -- try the McGyver with berries & nuts. The potatoes served on the side have a pretty good spicy kick, so beware before ordering. The prices are a bit expensive, especially if you want fruit. But for treat, this is a fun place to go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmae03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch place!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed this restaurant. It is a mix of Southwestern, planes, and southern goodness, but even Californians would enjoy it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eld865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overall very good”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Food to me is not what most reviewers say. Ate breakfast there one time. It was bland. Coffee was very light because I am a coffee "connoisseur". Service was average.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MwAvEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chef Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Chef Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing