We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky view of turn of the century folk art”
Review of Garden of Eden

Garden of Eden
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Delta, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky view of turn of the century folk art”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Located 15 min north of I-70 the Garden of Eden is a tribute to the egotistical mind of its creator Mr DInsmore. It is however worth the trip and is an interesting look at the politics and emotions of the period of its creation. Mr Dinsmore had something to say and wanted his opinions to outlast his life so he created them in concrete mixed to his own special recipe designed to last a millennium. Please take the tour of the house and listen to the guide's descriptions. We owe a debt of gratitude to the Kohler foundation for renovating and preserving the site. Be sure to look at the miniature creations of another folk artist located on the side of the house and yard which are also quite interesting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    23
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outsider Art Mecca”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I love the fact that they worked with the Kohler Foundation to preserve this site. The tour offered a great view into the life (and death) of the artist. Most of the good stuff is visible outside in the yard, but the tour is definitely worth the pittance they charge. The town offers a lot to the folk art enthusiast: the Grassroots Arts Center, the World's Largest Collection of the World's Smallest Versions of the World's Largest Things, Bowl Plaza, working artists, friendly people...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoadtrippingKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiichita, KS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sure it's a little out of the way. Yeah it's funky but exploring Kansas means getting off the Interstate and taking some chances. You'll be rewarded with this one. If searching for rare gems of American folk art is your deal don't miss this. I have been here frequently since the mid-70's and have introduced many friends to Mr. Dinsmoor's creation and not one wrinkled nose or complaint from anybody, ever. Since you made the effort, don't be a cheapskate, take the tour of the house and grounds. You will want to hug me for recommending this place or maybe not. If your idea of a good time is going to a petting zoo and eating at Denny's do not get off I-70 and go to Lucas. But wait there's more, tour downtown Lucas and get a chicken fried steak while your at it. 6 stars, you betcha.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueHighwaysTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“most amazing accidental find ever!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we were on a cross country road trip and I was the co pilot, I saw lil blurb and it couldn't have ever prepared us for what we were going to see!! esp when across the street is total middle America homes......THIS IS ART AND GOTH AND HISTORY AND A FEELING OF HALLOWEEN all rolled into one! also the fences in the area are made of limestone ......just another reason that would put this off the beaten path area on the list of must stops if ever near by!!! gave us many stories to share about that cross country vacation!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SEARCHINSPIRIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Witness Protection”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Lucas , Kansas is where someone would go where nobody would ever look for you. It was a very hot day in Lucas, I didn't see one moving car during my visit.It was so quiet, how quiet was it?
I did see 3 live people , one being the tour guide.
As everyone has stated , this is a very unique place in the middle of Kansas, well worth the trip if you have a couple hours to spend 16 miles off I70,seeing these unique sculptures and trying to imagine what was going on here back in the early 1900's.
What was kind of interesting was no one saw the value of this house or maybe because it was the depression , it was turned into an apartment.
Just a different experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wallywilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of Eden also viewed

 

Been to Garden of Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing