We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and uncomfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lenexa
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Tired and uncomfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a soccer tournament. This hotel is, I'm fairly certain, an amalgam of 2 exterior door roadside motels that some crazy architect decided to join by a covered lobby. The pool (which is tiny) is literally still in its original location which means that it is now in the lobby. Bizarre. Our room was in the back section that must have been a Motel 6 before its reincarnation. Frayed carpeting, semi-remodeled tiny bathroom, and the most horrendously uncomfortable bed and pillows. Some reviews mention sleep number beds ... our room did not have those! There are many hotels in this area ... I would not choose this one again. The front desk staff, however, was friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STLmom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel while attending the soccer tournament. I want to apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay. The hotel was orginally built as a Holiday Inn back in the early Mid 70's and added on in the early 80's . Nearly 90 percent of our hotel has been renovated in the last few years. We hope you decide to give us another try if you are ever in the Overland Park area

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    86
    63
    24
    17
See reviews for
88
42
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Hotel staff was very friendly. Renovations complete. Room service was VERY pricey. Food came warm and quickly but the restaurant has a all you can eat buffet for $10. per person and a bowl of cereal,bacon and half pot of coffee was $20. delivered to room. THe beds even though they are controlled sleep number beds were very uncomfortable, but the rooms very clean and the bathrooms small but clean.

Room Tip: Be away from inside pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiGrammie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Crown Plaza while in town for a wedding. The location is great, but there are some serious flaws. First of all, our room was in the back section of the hotel, with no apparent access to the lobby and no elevator. We were on the second floor. This was less than fun with luggage. Also, we reserved a king bed and recieved two full sized beds. The bathroom was a very tight squeeze... I had to wedge myself in to get the door close. And no, I'm not obese. The most serious issue was the towel hanging in front had a stray dark hair. . If you get my drift. When we got back from the wedding I called the front desk for fresh towels. Admittedly this was the quickest any hotel has delivered fresh towels for us.

I don't reccomend this hotel, and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. I want to apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay. We hope you decide to give us another try if you are ever in the Overland Park area.

Regards,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Hotel is well maintained, there is a nice swimming pool in the lobby but it is almost never used.
The rooms are fonctionnal and comfortable but the washroom is a bit tiny.
The choice in the breakfast is poor

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments on your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in May. Our new Food and Beverage Director has changed our breakfast buffet and we hope you have a chance to try it on your next visit.

We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed two nights and would go back. It was a convenient location for me. It was close to shopping and interstate. The staff was attentive and friendly. The rooms and facilities were very clean.
Would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMTraveller505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a nice experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed three nights for our honeymoon and thought it was great! Marcus and the rest of the staff were great and very accommodating. The breakfast was outstanding! Highly recommended! We would not hesitate to stay again. Great location right off the interstate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments on your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. It is great to hear you had a wonderful honeymoon and the staff made it memoriable. Hope to see you in the future!

Regards,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The check in was easy. We stayed 6 nights. Our room was a double queen. Pretty ordinary size, but very nice. Big desk with lamps and extra outlets which was appreciated. Lamps are bright and sturdy. Nice bath with a handy magnifying mirror that you can take to the desk to put on your makeup if you prefer doing it outside the bathroom. (I especially liked that) Nice big mirror over the desk, too. Closet closes to hide your hanging clothes which is nice. The beds are sleep number adjustable. I slept like a baby. Nice cool air conditioning which was great in the heat of this past week. Housekeeping was impeccable and duvets were clean and spotless. I hate when hotels use those nasty icky bedspreads that you know naked people may have been sitting on. Ew. Not a problem here.

We had two doors, one to an interior hallway and the other to the gigantic enclosed courtyard where there was a pool and live trees and plants. That was pleasant, too. We didn't eat at the hotel, but a breakfast buffet was available for $10. The one thing I didn't care for was that the interior courtyard smelled a musty or maybe a bit like you'd expect a botanic garden would smell. It's not bad, just not very fresh. But, the rooms were always fresh and so no smells there.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor is quieter than the first floor and easily reached by many sets of stairs if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CC A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your nice comments on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable six nights at the hotel an would stay again. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenexa
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City/Lenexa City Center
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Kansas City Lenexa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Lenexa Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park
Address: 12601 West 95th Street, Lenexa, KS 66215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lenexa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lenexa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lenexa
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lenexa
Radisson Lenexa
Lenexa Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing