We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a winner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Lenexa
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is a one and a half step above awful. The TV was old, the chairs and furniture were old, and the sleep number bed didn't really work. The inside of the hotel is dusty and old, but the most disappointing area was breakfast. Breakfast is held in the bar area which is teeny tiny and crowded with tables - not conducive to walking around with plates. If there isn't any seating in the bar area you must sit in the lobby area which is spacious, but again, dusty and old and eerily deserted. The staff in the food service area weren't the sunniest, but the desk staff were and I was very pleased with their service.

I've noticed a trend of outdated Crowne Plaza hotels in dire need of remodeling. This is an addition to that list.

Room Tip: Rooms at other hotels are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKM_International
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear skm floridagirl:

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay with us. I apologize for the inconvienence that we may have caused you. The hotel as you saw is under a major renovation to remodel and replace the items that you have mentioned. Unfortunately as we go through this process, we had to move our restaurant to another location such as the bar until the new restaurant was complete. Believe me renovation is fantastic once it is completed, but getting there has its challenges. We have always tried to do our best to make sure that our guests are not inconvenience in any way.

I am very pleased that you did recognize our desk staff for the service that they provided to you. My management staff has been working very hard in making sure through this process that we stay motivated in making sure our guests are taking care of.

Again, thanks for your comments and we hope you have a chance to stop by on your next visit and see the new Crowne Plaza Hotel that you expect.

Sincerely,

Jerry K. Albert
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 298 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This was one of those check in at 1 AM and out before breakfast the next morning stays. Comments, therefore, limited. With a room rate of $60 plus this was a great value. Lobby was spacious with indoor pool. Neither bed's "sleep number" controller was operable. Not so comfortable but too tired to complain and in pj's before realizing. Consider this an average property for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear stepanies:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us comments from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel KC-OP. I apologize for the inconveniece that you experience with your sleep number bed.

I will share this issue with my Maintenance Department and make sure that we are following our Preventive Maintenance program for the Sleep Number Beds. I am not sure what room you were in but I will pull up our last report and make sure we are not seeing any reoccurences of controllers not working.

We value your business and take your comments very seriously. I appreciate you letting us know of this issue.

Safe Travels,


Jerry K. Albert
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ok, so we booked this hotel through an online travel agency and got a good price. That good price came with a price if being placed in a small, smelly room on the first floor. After my first attempt at relocating to a different room (computers were down) I explained the situation to Marcus at the front desk. He was awesome. He moved us to the third floor in the atrium.
The interior of the hotel is decent but is a bit outdated and has a different layout. The room was clean and smelled nice but was small. It had a 37/40 inch flatscreen and double beds. The beds were sleep number and it seemed one was more comfortable than the other, even if on the same setting. The other complaints that are well documented are valid; no bathroom fan, fridge or microwave and an odd very cramped bathroom setup are valid but the rooms are decent otherwise. They are a bit drab but were seemingly well maintained. The pool and spa area are nice but are in the middle of the atrium and offer little privacy if desired.
All was well until returned the afternoon of our second day to find housekeeping never cleaned our room. After tracking down a housekeeper, I received new towels etc. While in the bathroom on our second day my wife called me in to kill a roach on the bathroom wall. I would compare this hotel to a 2 or 2.5 star hotel instead of a 3.5 star as it is rated. I would stay here again if I didnt have options but will probably look elsewhere next time.

PS-Marcus needs to win one of the employee of the month parking spots out front as he was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the atrium on the third or fourth floor. Double access to either the hallway or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discountdoublecheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear discountdoublecheck:

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room, our staff and expecially Marcus. By the Way, Marcus was chosen as Employee of the month for September.

However, We’re sorry for your room not being cleaned as well. I can assure you that this is not a standard for us and will address this issue quickly. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. As far as microwaves and refirgerators, we do provide refrigerators upon request but we do not have microwaves. From our experience, microwaves have been a problem with odors in our guest rooms and if not watched closely will set off the fire alarm if the food in the microwave is cooked too long.

We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Jerry K. Albert
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is an old old Holiday Inn (Holidome Style). I know they are trying to update it and keep it nice but they are failing. Everything other than the top layer of paint is old. I was shocked to see a tube tv in the room. Out dated small bathroom with no vent. No fridge, No microwave, no free breakfest. If you want to know what it was like to stay in a hotel in 1980 come here! Also they have old sleepnumber beds left over from when it was a Radisson... they are MANY years old and don't make a good nights sleep. Priceline $46.00 and wasn't worth it. Staff was nice.

Room Tip: Best rooms.... are in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fidoddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear fidoddog:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your thoughts of the Crowne Plaza Hotel. I am sorry that you felt that we are not up to the level that you were expecting. Our facility as you noticed is going through a major renovation that is requiring a complete new look with a new concept that was requested by our guests. We have already replaced many TV's with 37" Flat Screens and are waiting for additional ones to be sent. Although we do have Sleep Numbers beds we also provide other options upon requests. We work very hard to provide our guest a comfortable place to stay and are very accomodating to our customers needs. At this time our hotel does not provide refrigerators in our guestrooms but are available upon requests. We have considered microwaves, but from our past experience they can and will leave food odors in the guestrooms as well as set off smoke detectors. As you can imagine this creates an inconvenience for everyone. Our bountiful breakfast buffet is offered to our guests at a competitive price. Their are many hotel brands that have different standards which makes them different than others. The Crowne Plaza Hotel brand is not one of the hotels that offers free breakfast unless it is tied in with a speacial package that they offer such as we do. As far as the bathroom being small we do not have any control of that part of your stay, but I do know that all our bathrooms do have a vent. After futher investigation we found that the motor needed to be replace which would have taken care of the steam in the bathroom.

Again, thanks for taking the time to let us know of your thoughts. We keep all comments in our records for review as we make changes to our hotel.

Jerry Albert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business training and was not impressed. With the exception of the staff (who were nice and courteous), the property is in desperate need of repair. The hotel is being renovated but unfortunately there is a point where you just need to stop renovating and build a new property. The door would not open with the key card unless you slammed into it (to the point of waking up my sleeping roommate). The select-a-number beds either wanted to roll you off the bed or suck you in, it felt like a cheap air matress. You can't do hardly anything in the bathroom with the door open except wash your hands because the door comes right up against the toilet. There's no ventilation so if you take a hot shower you'll choke on the steam. The room still had a tube television (flat panels have been affordable for more than 5 years), you had to keep typing in a password for the internet every two hours and there was no fridge. There was no unified wifi, just a bunch routers (38?) interfering with each other. And of course it never worked in the conference areas. It's the 21st Century, buy some new electronics. Many other hotels of this class offer free breakfast, they didn't (thankfully work paid for it). Breakfast was okay but there wasn't a lot of variety over four days. Finally, as this hotel is up against the interstate, there's an issue with traffic (one-way roads). Any time you want to go somewhere, you have to circle the block to get back onto the main road. The parking lot fills up to about 95% (some trucks and service vehicles block multiple spaces). I hate to be so negative as the staff was so nice but after staying at a couple Crowne Plazas, I would just exclude this brand from any hotel searches in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerNotTourist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkalbert, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear P. S.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City-Overland Park. I apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you. I want to first let you know we appreciate you letting us know that the staff was couteous and nice. I know they work very hard in making sure that all guests have a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

The comments you have made are very important to how we continue with our renovations. To build a new hotel in these times would cost 4 to 5 times the amount to renovate and exising one. The items you mentioned within our control are being reviewed on a regular basis. I know once our renovation is completed by the end of the year we will have more time ot look into improving our services and products with new and innovating ideas that change regularly.

Again, thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

Sincerely,


Jerry Albert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Business trip so a quick 1 night turnaround. I'm glad. Sleep number bed was a nice novelty, but I would have much rather have had a microwave or a small refrigerator. The rooms are very small and clean. The food was awful, the breakfast provided through the conference I was attending was almost embarrassing, lunch was just as bad. The front desk gentleman in the evening was pleasant, the daytime guys not as friendly or helpful. There is free wifi which was a plus. Construction is going on, perhaps they'll be able to make some improvements.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJGolfVac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear NJGolfVac,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room and our staff.

However, We’re sorry you received poor selection for the food which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The only way I would stay here is through the discount website.

Pros:
Clean
Fancy looking and sounding
can be had on the cheap

Cons:
Lots of damage
Ice machines aren't even plugged in
tiny bathrooms
small tube TV
no fridge
no microwave
no breakfast included (not even the cheapy ones they have at rundown motels)
amenities not open when they are scheduled to be
disgruntled desk employee

Room Tip: Get it through the discount website for the lowest price around, and you'll feel like you got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_griz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear travel_griz,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However We’re sorry that we fell below your expectations on multiple issues such as the unplugged ice machine, room amenities and breakfast. We will look into this and assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenexa
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City/Lenexa City Center
3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Kansas City Lenexa/City Center
2.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Lenexa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Lenexa Kansas City
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Kansas City Lenexa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park

Address: 12601 W 95th St, Lenexa, KS 66215-3810 (Formerly Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park)
Location: United States > Kansas > Lenexa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Lenexa
Price Range: $79 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarion Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lenexa
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lenexa
Radisson Lenexa
Lenexa Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing