We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ in Kansas City”

Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Leawood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Kansas City”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Oklahoma Joe's is becoming the measure of great BBQ and sides. The measure is a great smoky flavor with savory exterior and soft chewable meats without dried and hard spots. OK Joe's does this with all their selections from ribs, beef, pulled pork and burnt ends and none failed to meet the standard. The sauce is a little sweet and savory and does not overwhelm the main stay, the meat. The creamy potato salad, cole slaw, and cowboy beans taste more like great home made sides than restaurant fare. Drinks are refillable and service is excellent. We highly recommend Oklahoma Joe's wherever you find them. This is a wonderful find and a treat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NicknAZ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    122
    39
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food and prices”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This is fantastic BBQ and the prices are fair. I tried the ribs and chicken combo with red beans and rice. All great. Portions are big.

Helpful?
Thank Dc2011dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brisket!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Got dinner here on a Wednesday night and the wait was not too long - about 30 minutes. At least you're indoors, there's beer to buy while you're in line and other people's dinner to peruse as you pass by. The brisket was divine. Smoked ends platter was also offered that night and it got rave reviews from our table. The sides were a little disappointing. The baked beans were spicy, not sweet, which is just a preference of mine. The spicy coleslaw was nothing special and the french fries were drenched in seasoned salt. But the brisket was smoked to perfection, moist and delicious. Get it and savor it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancyeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good BBQ but not my favorite”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Look, there are a several very good BBQ placed in the greater KC area and in my opinion, each has its merits. Trying to pick one with the best of everything is simply impossible. My wife and I have a local favorite and considering we don't indulge in BBQ that often we find it hard to deviate from there. However, a friend from out of town was in for the week on business and he had already eaten at a few other places so we decided to try OK Joe's in Leawood.

I'll start off by saying the ribs we really good. Smokey without being over-bearing, rub came through nicely and they had enough texture without being tough. I simly prefer my ribs a little wetter and these came with no or very little sauce...I honestly couldn't tell.

My wife had the Z-Man and loved it. I think OK Joe's does an excellent job with their sandwiches (not just meat and sauce but other stuff to add flavor and texture...Z-Man has smoked cheese and onion rings along with the brisket) that elevates them from many other BBQ spots. But to me the mark of any BBQ place is their ribs and as I've said these just aren't my thing.

We also sampled the burnt ends, which were also nicely smoked but a little fatty...yeah, yeah I know they're supposed to be, but a few times I just got a mouth full of fat.

Their sauce was substandard in my opinon. Can't put my finger on exactly what was wrong, I just didn't like it. Sides aren't great either, I've had better beans and many other establishments (although the fries are the exception to this comment).

We arrived on a Wednesday (one of the days burnt ends are available) around 5:20 and the line wasn't too long. We got a beer at the small counter near the front door and thought about getting in line but had to wait for our friend to arrive. 30 min later and the line was to the door and nearly out. We got another beer and started waiting. For as long as the line is the wait really isn't too bad but still frustrating...the "wait in line beer" helps a great deal and is border line genious on their part. By the time we left around 6:30 or so the line was 15 or so deep outside the door...too long to wait for any BBQ in my opinion (maybe that's simly because I live here and can get it anytime).

Like many I wish we had the option for 1/2 star ratings on Trip Advisor and I obviously have a lot of negative things to say, but OK Joe's does know what they're doing with their meat but as I've said before, it just isn't my favorite. Coupled with the wait and the hurried feeling in the dining room and I though about giving it three stars but can't do it...they deserve better.

As we were driving home my wife and I were discussing what we thought. She has seen the original (the one in the gas station) on TV with Anthony Bourdain and we both agreed that if the food we had just eaten had come out of a gas station at a slightly lower price point we'd both be blown away. But at a free standing restaurant with the price point in tact it was a good meal but won't be on the top of my all time favorite list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Darn good bbq”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Some of the best pulled pork and ribs I've ever had. Did not think the brisket was up to the same level,as the ribs and pork. The fries are awesome as well. Great atmosphere and well worth the short wait in line.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing