We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ”

Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Leawood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Turlock
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good meats, kid friendly, decent prices. You stand in line (that was out the door anytime I happened to be driving by). It's worth the time. It went quickly.

Took a bunch of high-schoolers here. Had good feedback on Z-man sandwich and the fries. I had brisket burnt end which were tender and very flavorful - great smokiness. I absolutely loved their red beans and rice; putting bits of smoked meat in them made these the best I've eaten. Slaw was good, but a bit on the spicy side for me, but it was a huge hit with others in my group.

I ordered pulled pork, sausage, and those fabulous beans to take home on the plane. The staff had them ready for flight - tightly wrapped and packaged up for optimal transportation. TSA inspected my bag - glad they didn't take my Oklahoma Joe's!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 56-Been_Around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    125
    39
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great Bar-B-Que!! The original started in a gas station, however this location is not. The food is awesome, a must try is the "Z" man sandwich - you will not be disappointed and an order of fries is certainly big enough to share! They are also known for their ribs which are extremely mouth watering. Burnt ends are only available on certain days, as they have to slowly get smoked and it takes time - duh! Enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 720MarkW720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Okie Joe's - just plain yummmm...”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Really good, consistent barbecue and a varied menu - hard to beat for what's essentially a 'fast-food' service restaurant. (though you might stand in line for a long time if you hit the rush-hour dinner and lunch lines)

Try the ribs or pulled pork - you won't be sorry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

A bit of a wait of approx. 30 minutes, but we knew that going in, so no big deal. The ribs were great. Nice smoke flavor with that red ring you want to see. No sauce which is how I prefer. The smoked chicken gumbo was excellent, as was the red beans and rice. The Z man sandwich was a bit of a disappointment. Not enough brisket, in my opinion. Only one choice for sauce, which really was just average. They definitely need more choices for sauce. The staff were very friendly. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcb95sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerrillos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Simply great BBQ”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I love this place. It's a simple place with good food and friendly staff. There's a side door for ordering and picking up carry out. I love all their food, the bbq is just the best. Be prepared for a lot of meat but then why else would you want to go to a BBQ place? Prices are very reasonable and food is just delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Santa_Fe_NM_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
Overland Park, KS
Overland Park, KS
 

Been to Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing