We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Fathers Day dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 801 Chophouse

801 Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
801 Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 101 Restaurants in Leawood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 117th Street and Nall
kansas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pre Fathers Day dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

A Pre-Fathers Day dinner on Saturday night at 801 Chophouse was so very good. Alex (server 1041) took extra special care of us. She knew the menu very well, and guided us thru what she felt was good, and what was not AS good. She allowed us to have small plate’s appetizers. Because we all wanted just a taste. Whether she really did do this on her own, or it is done before, either was, it was spectacular.

The scallops were the best, but the crab cakes and shrimp were not far behind.

We had KC Strip, filet medallions, and prime rib. Not sure which was one was the best, way too hard to tell. Each one was done to perfection, and the leftovers were equally as good.

I liked the idea of family style sides. We should have taken Alex up on small samples of each, instead of just the few we had. Maybe on our next visit.

Last but certainly not least, the dessert was out of this world. My personal wish is that you come up with a sampler dessert tray. In this way, it would have given us a sample of all, instead of just one.

Special praises to Alex. Too many times it’s so easy to berate a restaurant or a server when things go awry. She helped make our evening memorable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank midwestguy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    27
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“By far the most tender meat ever in all my travels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our server Chris. Williams was outstanding in explaining the difference in 801's meat over other establishments. The service he and others presented us with was excellent . We order various cuts of meat and some lobster and were overwhelmed with the taste. It was pricey but we had enough to take back to our hotel and warm for lunch the next day. The side of asparagus 15 extra large stalks and grilled perfectly . Will return on our next trip to the area

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good steak, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Directly next to our hotel. Fast, courteous service. Good steaks, tender but somewhat pricey.
Will likely return if in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hootentown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just okay fir a Steak House in Cattle Country”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A very nice establishment but the food misses the high marks there prices and decor lead you to. I got the prime rib and I was very disappointed. No flavor at all. My husband, daughter and son-in-law got the Kansas City Steak. It was good, but it seemed that the waiter was pushing it because it was the only good thing they had. The prices were outrageous for Kansas.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerrillos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average food; overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

My business colleagues and I tried this restaurant which has a nice location in Town Center. It's a beautiful restaurant with very good service generally. The main issue is that for the price, the food is way too average. Steaks that start at $42 up to $80 should be above average, but I actually can get great steak at Hen House next door.

The cheddar cheese hash browns were about as disgusting as they sound. Everything else was cooked well, but was dinner-table average. I was surprised at how empty the place was, and have noticed that it's only really crowded on the weekends. The happy hour bar seemed to have the biggest draw from business people.

I can't recommend this place. The staff were very prompt and friendly, but the food really doesn't live up to the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Santa_Fe_NM_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 801 Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing