We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steak, good service.”
Review of 801 Chophouse

801 Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
801 Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 101 Restaurants in Leawood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 117th Street and Nall
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good steak, good service.”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Directly next to our hotel. Fast, courteous service. Good steaks, tender but somewhat pricey.
Will likely return if in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hootentown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    28
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just okay fir a Steak House in Cattle Country”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A very nice establishment but the food misses the high marks there prices and decor lead you to. I got the prime rib and I was very disappointed. No flavor at all. My husband, daughter and son-in-law got the Kansas City Steak. It was good, but it seemed that the waiter was pushing it because it was the only good thing they had. The prices were outrageous for Kansas.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerrillos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average food; overpriced”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My business colleagues and I tried this restaurant which has a nice location in Town Center. It's a beautiful restaurant with very good service generally. The main issue is that for the price, the food is way too average. Steaks that start at $42 up to $80 should be above average, but I actually can get great steak at Hen House next door.

The cheddar cheese hash browns were about as disgusting as they sound. Everything else was cooked well, but was dinner-table average. I was surprised at how empty the place was, and have noticed that it's only really crowded on the weekends. The happy hour bar seemed to have the biggest draw from business people.

I can't recommend this place. The staff were very prompt and friendly, but the food really doesn't live up to the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Santa_Fe_NM_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice place if you can afford it”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

EXPENSIVE, food was good but not $50+ entrée good. Service was good, but again... Extensive wine list including a $2000 Penfods Grange. Salads got very favorable reviews at our table, as did those who had steaks. Expect about $150 per person with drinks. and tip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We went during restaurant week and thoroughly enjoyed our three course meal. The three of use loved everything we ordered. I ordered the Caesar salad and really enjoyed it. The salmon was delicious with a slightly crispy crust and wonderful flavor. The cream brûlée was spectacular! It was the best cream brûlée that I have ever had. One of us ordered the steak and he absolutely loved it. I went to six different restaurants during restaurant week, one being my favorite, and this meal by far surpassed the other meals. Our waiter did a perfect job waiting on us. He came by often to see if we needed anything and to refill our drinks. He also was great in explaining the menu and giving suggestions. We so enjoyed our meal and service. Can't wait to go back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CharlieKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 801 Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to 801 Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing