We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eaten here 3 times and would go back”

La Bodega - Leawood
Reserve with OpenTable
La Bodega - Leawood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 101 Restaurants in Leawood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Roe Ave
Description: Tapas -- In the beginning. Tapas is a daily event in the life of the Spanish culture. Mainly a Northern Spain, Basque regional tradition, it has grown to signify a way of eating and socializing. It is said that tapas originated centuries ago. In Spanish, the word tapa or the verb tapar means "to cover." Tapas represents the Spanish custom of placing a piece of bread over the glass of wine. It is a custom that dates back past the 1500's. Traditionally, the exact food served is less important than the social occasion. It signifies leisure, camaraderie and good humor. In Spain, Tapas are almost always accompanied by wine. The wine is the medium that holds the conversation with friends and the food together. You make time to enjoy the moment in an unhurried way. The threefold purpose of snacking on tapas is to dull any hunger pangs that have built up since the previous intake of comestibles, to whet the appetite for the next, and to stimulate sociability, at which the Spanish excel.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Eaten here 3 times and would go back”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I like the food here. It is great for sharing and very flavorful. It can get a little pricey if you go crazy ordering a ton of dishes. Everything tastes fresh.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    63
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hector, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great way to start the evening”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place has wonderful and ample outside seating. With fall approaching and two nice outdoor fireplaces this is the place to be for getting everybody in the weekend mindset. On top of that, very ,very nice happy hour munchies and a full bar and runs 4-6pm!! La Bodega is one of our favorite places and this is how we enjoy it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bglarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, food lacking”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Business lunch on Sept 10, this was our first (and last) visit here. We really liked the outdoor seating and the service couldn't have been better. The problem was the quality of the food. Our party opted for the lunch buffet and were quite disappointed. The only meat option was a meatball that was lukewarm and tasteless. The rest of the options were heavy on the carbs and short on taste. Too bad, as this place has the best location and atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

If I hadn't come back here to visit for a second time I would've given a much higher rating. My first visit was late June with my husband for a birthday dinner and we had an amazing time! Great food, great service. So what happened when I went back to visit with some friends after a Royals game? It was around 10pm but this place is suppose to be known for it's late night 'happy hour' and it was a Friday night. When we were greeted we were told to go ahead and seat ourselves since we were a party of 6. Eventually a server helped us to put two high tables together. One table was uneven on the floor so the server was kind enough to take care of the issue with the table wobbling. Then we waited, and waited....no one ever came back to even take a drink order. It wasn't as if the place was crowded. There were staff on hand. Some were just 'hanging around'. After 15-20 minutes of waiting we just got up and walked out. Good thing there was a more entertaining and attentive restaurant within walking distance. Shame on you La Bodega because we were willing to drop 'a few bucks' on some tapas and drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Jerseygirlz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one of my favorite places!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

One of my favorite places to eat.....they have wonderful drinks...especially mojitos....great tapas..great atmosphere...my family and friends love this restaurant and eat lunch and/or dinner here at least once a month! Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gamblinggal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega - Leawood also viewed

 

Been to La Bodega - Leawood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing