We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but excellent food.”
Review of North Italia

North Italia
Reserve with OpenTable
North Italia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Leawood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Roe
Description: North, exemplifies a culinary tradition that blends sophisticated Italian cuisine with the comfort of traditional cooking techniques. The menu features dishes that are created from the freshest ingredients without the unnecessary adornments of cream or heavy sauces. Crispy thin crust pizza, wood roasted entrees, pasta specialties, and a variety of antipasti round out the menu. The world-class wine list features 30 selections by the glass, terzo (third of a bottle) or bottle. North also offers a variety of specialty cocktails.
Louisburg, Kansas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pricey, but excellent food.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food was amazing, appetizers to dessert. My only complaint was that my entree was overly salty, but it was chicken with prosciutto, which is salty anyway. The dessert I had was butterscotch pudding. Heaven. It was like a softer creme brulee with fresh whipped cream and sea salt on top. I'd never had anything like it. The waiter recommended it, I am not sure it was on the menu. Definitely try it!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalgirlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    59
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We dined at North for the first time on Saturday evening. I am glad we had a reservation. The place was busy. Our service was great. The waiter really knew the menu well. Nice wine selections. The appetizer chips were different but good. The salads and soup were excellent as was the complimentary bread. The main courses were just ok based on the pricing. We all ordered different pasta dishes that were presented well but for al a carte I expected a slightly bigger dish. Overall we had a nice visit and I would go back. If the weather is nice it would be a great outdoor seating venue.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Verzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The pizza and sandwiches are great here. Actually I haven't had anything bad. Menu changes with the seasons but if you have a favorite that has been removed from the menu you can call in advance and ask if they can prepare (Great Service!) Outdoor seating is a plus in the spring and summer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent happy hour menu!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just happened to be driving by about 5:00, had heard about North, but never been, so we stopped in for an early dinner. There were a few tables with people, but most were there for cocktails.
The menu was impressive, but we both decided we weren't starving, so we ordered some appetizers from their happy hour menu, $2 olives & $4 calamari, and wait, it gets better!
House wines were $4, both very good. Next we ordered their spaghetti and meatballs off their happy hour menu, $5, and it was a perfect size serving. Not sure where you can eat/drink so well for $30.
Avoid the crowd and get there early while enjoying a great (inexpensive) happy hour!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLewis53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We decided to go to North on a Sunday when they have Happy Hour all day. The food was great, but our waitress was a little odd. She kept trying to push the non happy hour menu, and the non cheap wines. Other than that, we had a perfectly good time. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggieT524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Italia also viewed

 

Been to North Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing