We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food!”
Review of North Italia

North Italia
Reserve with OpenTable
North Italia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Leawood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Roe
Description: North, exemplifies a culinary tradition that blends sophisticated Italian cuisine with the comfort of traditional cooking techniques. The menu features dishes that are created from the freshest ingredients without the unnecessary adornments of cream or heavy sauces. Crispy thin crust pizza, wood roasted entrees, pasta specialties, and a variety of antipasti round out the menu. The world-class wine list features 30 selections by the glass, terzo (third of a bottle) or bottle. North also offers a variety of specialty cocktails.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nice evening on the outdoor patio with wine and pasta! Food quality was good as well as wait service. Seated immediately at 7:00 on a Friday evening.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank katlane55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    59
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin City, Kansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“tasty food and good service”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

a very lively place with tasty food and good service. Menu contains a varitey of things. The servers recommendation was very good. Will certainly return here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank trailsidedreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas city
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We dined at North on Labor Day .
They offered a dining discount via e-mail to loyal customers , which was an incredible deal.
The bar menu was also presented ,in addition to the regular menu.
The bar menu offers smaller portions at very reasonable prices.
It was too hot to eat on the patio, but, once the weather moderates
that will be a pleasant option.
The restaurant is large and the decor clean and simple.
North is well staffed and the staff is obviously well trained.
The hostess and our waiter were pleasant and welcoming.
Our waiter was informed about all aspects of the menu and
offered suggestions without being overbearing or pushing any specific items.
North has a large bar area and a large mixed drink and wine menu.
Wine can be ordered by the glass in two sizes.
The traditional glass and the Terzo sized glass ,
which is a third of a bottle and comes in a small carafe.
We ordered Zucca chips ( extremely thin , fried zucchini chips which were light and not greasy and very addictive ) and the Chef's Board for the table-a large antipasto platter ,
with good quality meat and cheeses.
One diner also had the grilled artichokes with lemon aioli , which was large and well prepared and very tasty.
We ordered the Strozzapreti pasta with chicken and mushrooms ,
the Pappardelle- a short rib dish, the Basil and Mozzarella pizza and a large chopped salad which we shared among the four of us.
Every entree was substantially portioned , well seasoned and delicious.
The portions were large enough that we had leftovers to take home.
The pizza crust was the very thin , cracker type for those interested.
We did not have dessert, although they looked tempting.
The bar area is set away from the dining area and the bartenders are as informed and pleasant as the waitstaff.
It is a relaxing area to spend time before dinner or
just to meet for drinks without being too noisy or stuffy.
North is a pleasant and relaxed venue for a good meal or drink
without being too pricey or pretentious.
The staff is a definite asset to the dining experience.
Pleasantly attentive, engaging , but, not overly intrusive.
My only complaint is trying to find their menu online.
You have to go through the parent company foxrestaurantconcepts.com and
search there for the menus.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
368 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I ate here for lunch and had a very enjoyable meal. The spinach salad with chicken was very tasty and it is a pleasure to eat outside. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaFan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
150 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pretense”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I can't say this restaurant was bad...the atmosphere, food, wine list and service were all generally pleasant, but nothing really stood out. It was as though it was all a formula, as though the waiters were all in some kind of character, kind of like the costumed animation characters at Disneyland. I'd sum up the entire experience as pretentious. I think they tried just a bit too hard to sell the place as upscale, hip and to let you know how privileged you were to be among the beautiful people. The food was decent, but you've had as good or better at 2/3 the price. The place is probably perfect for a young couple on a date. For a 50 something foodie like myself...I've seen this place before. Formulaic, too hip by half, and nowhere near as good as the staff was pretending that it was. I'd go back, and I'd recommend it, but be prepared for a lot of upsale and sashaying waiters exhibiting tres chic pizzazz. It's kind of like walking into the Apple Store if the Apple Store was a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irrashimasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Italia also viewed

 

Been to North Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing