We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better in their new location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of June's Cottage and Cafe

June's Cottage and Cafe
Ranked #22 of 79 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
204 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Even better in their new location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I took my family and parents to June's Cottage to celebrate Mothers Day 2013. This was my first visit to their new location, and the change is for the better. We took advantage of the large buffet, complimentary drinks and large dessert bar. Seating is well organized and despite the large crowd, we had plenty of room (no sense of claustrophobia here). The staff had a minor mixup in our reservation, but seated us on time and in a good location. Speaking of, reservations are highly encouraged although they are not mandatory. The food is excellent, although the Bloody Mary drinks were sub-par. The staff are friendly and efficient. Brunch was pricey, but in the norm for such an event. We will be back next year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 101jumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't skip dessert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The cakes here are wonderful and the coffee. Staff is warm and wonderful. Great place to meet with friends. However, my lunch was okay, nothing to write home about. I have eaten here twice and never saw anything on the menu that wow'ed me. Do meet here for coffee and cake!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KTgirrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay with Cottage, beware of Northland location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

At the new Northland location for Valentine's dinner, service was eratic, rare and confused. Instead of having a server assigned for our table, we were attended by whomever happened to be walking by and asked same questions. Consequently, courses were served out of order, and parts of the meal were cold. Wish we had left before we committed. We have eaten several times at the Cottage and always had good service. This was a major disappointement. June seemed to be aware they were havnig problems with wait staff but didn't seem to be able to get a handle on the problem.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food, special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The cottage is a shop a few different areas that you can eat it. The shop is selling house furniture and decoration. There is a small bar too. The menu is not very long but the food is really good. The only descent salad you can have in this area. Make sure you don't miss the daily specials, especially the path Thai on Thursday. Be aware that they close at 3pm and sometimes they are out of some dishes after 1pm which is annoying. Overall great place for lunch with friends.

Helpful?
Thank Nogakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryton, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for a group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The 8 of us ate lunch there and did a little shopping prior to Christmas, it was a first time for all of us and we enjoyed it thoroughly. The wait staff went out of their way to accomodate us and we had a nice time shopping and eating. The food was great and we plan on going back in the spring so we can eat outdoors. Highly recommend as tea rooms that serve lunch are all closing up around the area and this is a "find" we appreciate and hope will be around for years to come.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed June's Cottage and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to June's Cottage and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing