We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eldridge hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eldridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eldridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Eldridge hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

A very charming hotel with a touch of old times... Also excellent rooms. Located down town lovely Lawrence with Starbucks coffee close by..couldn't ask for more. However be aware that noisy trains pass through Lawrence at night - how ever I was in a good mood and found it romantic....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aura4Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    68
    22
    18
    6
See reviews for
62
75
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had to make reservations on short notice due to needing to attend a funeral in Lawrence which fell, unfortunately, on a KU basketball weekend, Consequently, I had to book two separate reservations in different type rooms in order to have a 3 night stay. I worried that the logististics of moving rooms would be a problem, especially with my schedule. But, due to the outstanding service of the front desk staff, I was allowed to stay in my room until the next room was ready, which was done quickly.

I saw one review about rude front desk staff but that certainly was not my experience. I worked with several people at the front desk and could not have been treated better. I left my rental car at the hotel and the valet was quick and helpful every time I needed it.

The hotel is very nice with a beautiful period lobby. I had drinks one night at the bar and found it well stocked and the bartenders very cordial. I had dinner for a group of 11 in Ten, their restaurant, and found the service to be excellant as well was the food. I also had breakfast in Ten and had a very good experience.

My only complaint was that the Queen Suite (401) I had initially needs better lighting in the living area and some additional seating. The But, the suite was very large and confortable, though. I really liked the king suite (407) better even though it smaller--it had better lighting and was cozier. In all, the rooms are very nice. There is an ambient noise machine in each and it blocked all the street noise.

Lawrence is a delightful town and after this visit to the Eldridge (my first), it will always be my base when I visit.

Room Tip: The 7th street side is somewhat quieter than the Mass Ave. side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPTVSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Booked this hotel for the location to Mass st. Downtown area with shops and restaurants within walking distance. We were checked in by a rude young man that made us feel like we were bothering him. Ran our card, gave us a room key and that was that. No info about parking, happy hour at the bar, dinner specials at the restaurant, which were steps away from the front desk. Conference going on and that seemed to be the hotels priority, not travelers.
Room 510 has one window that faces a brick wall straight on, and if you look out at an angle you see a open window to the linen closet and at another angle you see a tar covered roof. Last thing this room is right next to the elevator, room has white noise machine and ear plugs for your use, didn't help much since elevator was being used into the wee hours of the night due to conference. Will not stay here again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDU50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Although we only spent one night at the hotel, we did experience a wonderful stay. The bedroom was roomy, the bed itself was very comfortable and the sitting room in our suite was very spacious. The only complaint might be that the separate room for the toilet and shower was somewhat cramped and the shower curtain wasn't long enough to accomodate the bowed shower curtain rod that it was hanging from. Our dinner at their in-house restaurant (Ten) was excellent and the service was exceptional. All-in-all, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieU994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

First stay here and the atmosphere is nostalgic and very warm. Great location near the university and the downtown eateries. Excellent staff and the rooms are updated and very comfortable. Only minor misses (no TV channel guide in the room; lighting in the dressing area is not optimal) but overall very nice. I will stay there again.

Jayhawker Bar is a nice place to socialize or grab a small bite. Decent selection of local brews and a very attentive staff.

Room Tip: Reportedly a ghost on the 5th floor. Disappointed in not seeing the gent. Rooms on the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I spent 4 nights at The Eldridge while attending a conference at KU. The hotel's location is perfect for Lawrence's downtown entertainment district, with many restaurants, stores, and bars within just a couple of minutes' walk. There's a restaurant and bar on the ground floor of the hotel itself, but I didn't use it - the other options on Massachusetts St. seemed more appealing. It's a 15-20 minute talk to the KU campus (warning: not as flat as you might expect). I like to run in the mornings, and from the hotel it's just a couple of blocks to the bridge over the river, where one can join the pleasant Riverfront Levee trail. My room was quite comfortable. The bed was excellent, and I wish I could have slept in it longer. There was a semi-separate sitting area with comfortable leather seats. Bathroom shower were good though not great. Everything absolutely clean and with a recently renovated feel. Free wifi was actually reliable. And the in-room fridge was appreciated. A/C very effective, though a bit noisy. My only gripes: minimal storage, e.g., no dresser for clothes; no way to open windows to get fresh air in; no in-room coffee maker. There's complimentary coffee in the lobby in the mornings, and it was surprisingly good, but that's no good if you're looking for a brew either before 6:30am or after late morning (there are coffee shops within a minute or two walk, though). I would be happy to visit Lawrence again, with more time to explore the town, and if I did I would certainly consider the Eldridge as a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

despite promises by the hotel in its literature to the contrary , room 407 had absolutely no wi-fi. and the management, which clearly recognizes the problem, would only make the most modest financial accomodation to deal with the problem. and then the rooms have no robes--not only in the rooms themselves but when you request them from the front desk. and while the rooms come with ear plugs and with noise machines, there is a lot of noise from the street that cannot be screened out.. .so, the folks who love this hotel clearly can live without wi-fi and robes , and can deal with a lot of noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george_sebastopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviaCollection, Manager at Eldridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are so sorry our guest experienced difficulties connecting to our wireless internet service. We did offer to move him to another room closer to the router, which he did not want to do. We are pleased to say, however, that we have installed additional routers to make certain every room in the hotel has excellent connectivity. Thank you for your business George!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
0.7 mi away
The Oread
The Oread
#4 of 17 in Lawrence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lawrence Downtown
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#3 of 17 in Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldridge Hotel

Property: Eldridge Hotel
Address: 701 Massachusetts St, Lawrence, KS 66044-2345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lawrence
#6 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldridge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Lawrence, the hotel is surrounded by an abundance of unique shops, galleries and dining and entertainment venues. The hotel is a member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America. The 48 room, all-suite property reopened in May of 2005 after undergoing a complete restoration. The hotel features a full service restaurant and lounge, exquisite banquet space, room service and valet parking. Occupying the "most historic corner in Kansas," The Eldridge is truly the place where history and hospitality converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Eldridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldridge Hotel Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing