We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel in Lawrence KS”
Review of Eldridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eldridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

First stay here and the atmosphere is nostalgic and very warm. Great location near the university and the downtown eateries. Excellent staff and the rooms are updated and very comfortable. Only minor misses (no TV channel guide in the room; lighting in the dressing area is not optimal) but overall very nice. I will stay there again.

Jayhawker Bar is a nice place to socialize or grab a small bite. Decent selection of local brews and a very attentive staff.

Room Tip: Reportedly a ghost on the 5th floor. Disappointed in not seeing the gent. Rooms on the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 270 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

I spent 4 nights at The Eldridge while attending a conference at KU. The hotel's location is perfect for Lawrence's downtown entertainment district, with many restaurants, stores, and bars within just a couple of minutes' walk. There's a restaurant and bar on the ground floor of the hotel itself, but I didn't use it - the other options on Massachusetts St. seemed more appealing. It's a 15-20 minute talk to the KU campus (warning: not as flat as you might expect). I like to run in the mornings, and from the hotel it's just a couple of blocks to the bridge over the river, where one can join the pleasant Riverfront Levee trail. My room was quite comfortable. The bed was excellent, and I wish I could have slept in it longer. There was a semi-separate sitting area with comfortable leather seats. Bathroom shower were good though not great. Everything absolutely clean and with a recently renovated feel. Free wifi was actually reliable. And the in-room fridge was appreciated. A/C very effective, though a bit noisy. My only gripes: minimal storage, e.g., no dresser for clothes; no way to open windows to get fresh air in; no in-room coffee maker. There's complimentary coffee in the lobby in the mornings, and it was surprisingly good, but that's no good if you're looking for a brew either before 6:30am or after late morning (there are coffee shops within a minute or two walk, though). I would be happy to visit Lawrence again, with more time to explore the town, and if I did I would certainly consider the Eldridge as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

despite promises by the hotel in its literature to the contrary , room 407 had absolutely no wi-fi. and the management, which clearly recognizes the problem, would only make the most modest financial accomodation to deal with the problem. and then the rooms have no robes--not only in the rooms themselves but when you request them from the front desk. and while the rooms come with ear plugs and with noise machines, there is a lot of noise from the street that cannot be screened out.. .so, the folks who love this hotel clearly can live without wi-fi and robes , and can deal with a lot of noise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george_sebastopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviaCollection, Manager at Eldridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

We are so sorry our guest experienced difficulties connecting to our wireless internet service. We did offer to move him to another room closer to the router, which he did not want to do. We are pleased to say, however, that we have installed additional routers to make certain every room in the hotel has excellent connectivity. Thank you for your business George!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I are Lawrence residents, but we stayed in a corner suite because our son was holding his wedding reception across the street. Our family also booked the honeymoon suite for the newlyweds, the bride's mother booked another suite as her room and also as a "staging area" for the bridesmaids - several of whom also had rooms here. This is an older hotel that has been fully updated for decor, but still retains all of the fine older touches such as crown moulding and real wood doors in the rooms and brass elevator doors.

All rooms are very nicely appointed with a clean and light appearance. Our room had wonderful daylight from the windows, two large HD televisions, a sofa and table plus a desk and side chairs. There is a separate makeup counter plus the sink area, both of which are outside of the bath/toilet area. A nice touch is the lighted magnifier makeup mirror. The room sizes are very adequate. My only suggestion is more light in the sink area for those of us with older eyes. The room also has a mini-fridge.

Valet service is available for parking (additional fee). Plan to eat at least one meal in the hotel restaurant - Sunday brunch is wonderful (see separate review). There also is a nice wine bar in the hotel. However, plan to get out on the sidewalks as there is a great brew-pub across the street and numerous bars and restaurants, several live music entertainment venues, art galleries, retail shopping and a variety of churches in the downtown - this location is superb. The downtown is safe and busy, with bars usually open until 1 or 2 a.m..

I recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway weekend in Lawrence!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite on 4th or 5th floor for great views of the river valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49viaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The location of this property is convenient to shops, restaurants and music venues. The staff were accommodating and pleasant.The rooms are clean and decorated nicely, however, there isn't a bathroom fan, extremely small bathroom, no coffee machine and the light switches control multiple lights. So when you turn on one light switch another light comes on in an entirely different. Would I stay there again? Probably.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnBunny88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

You don't have to be a big Jayhawk fan to be a huge fan of the Eldridge Hotel. The accomodations are perfect and the location is convenient to wonderful shopping and restaurants. Lawrence is a charming town and this hotel is the perfect jewel on Mass Street! We held a business meeting here and the catering staff went above and beyond to accomodate our group of 25. The rooms are beautiful and plush -- it was the perfect one-night get away!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hosslars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My son and I were in Lawrence for a concert. We stayed at the Eldridge and I cannot express how much we enjoyed our stay. The price was so reasonable and then I saw the room and I felt we underpayed. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels and I have to say this hotel for such a small town is well above 5 star. Please look into this hotel when you visit, it has it all history, 5 star service, wonderful resturant and bar and above all the rooms are so clean and beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fannonwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oread
The Oread
#4 of 17 in Lawrence
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lawrence Downtown
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
#10 of 17 in Lawrence
247 reviews
1.9 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#6 of 17 in Lawrence
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldridge Hotel

Address: 701 Massachusetts St, Lawrence, KS 66044-2345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lawrence
#6 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range: $154 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldridge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Lawrence, the hotel is surrounded by an abundance of unique shops, galleries and dining and entertainment venues. The hotel is a member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America. The 48 room, all-suite property reopened in May of 2005 after undergoing a complete restoration. The hotel features a full service restaurant and lounge, exquisite banquet space, room service and valet parking. Occupying the "most historic corner in Kansas," The Eldridge is truly the place where history and hospitality converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Eldridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldridge Hotel Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing