We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunch”
Review of Bambino's Italian Cafe - CLOSED

Bambino's Italian Cafe
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
201 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited Bambino's for the first time on this trip to Lawrence. We stopped in for lunch and had calamari and pizza. Both were excellent. The sauce for the calamari was great! The supreme pizza was as good as you will find in Lawrence. We will be back on our next visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“About the best Lawrence can offer for Italian.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Food is better than any of the big chains. We both had ravioli. Mine was great. Wife's was a bit tough, but we are spoiled from the real families in KC. Very good for the price.

Skip the mixed drinks. Wife's was watered down. Service is ok but they are college students.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kccode1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I really enjoy Bambino's. The restaurant is so adorable, the prices are very reasonable and the service is excellent! The last time I went in I tried the salmon special and it was absolutely delicious. They are so accommodating to special dietary needs and requests. You definitely need to come in to Bambino's!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
1 review
“Great place to be!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The atmosphere is amazing! I love the music and vibe!! The food is out of this world!! I was more than satisfied with my dinner! They always have great specials and the price is more than reasonable. Definitely recommend coming!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 685Brummie_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bambino's Italian Restaurant, Lawrence, KS”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We've eaten at Bambino's many, many times... but last night may be the "LAST" night.

The food there seems to be either fantastic or just horrid.. A staple like Fettuccine Alfredo should be perfect, but it tasted like paste.. no flavor and definitely no cheese or fresh cream flavor. If there hadn't been a cheese shaker at the table, I would have turned the dish back.

My companion had the Chicken Spiedini, with Fettuccine Alfredo. The Chicken Speidini was perfectly tender with a hint of lemon and spiced perfectly, and the accompanying Fettuccine Alfredo was pastey, flavorless, and almost cold.

We keep hoping that Bambino's will catch on to the fact that they are losing customers.. but maybe not. Lawrence isn't a very big town, and if Bambino's wants to compete with Paisano's Ristorante, they must improve the quality/freshness/flavor of their food, because right now Paisano's wins, hands down.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontanaClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambino's Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing