We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I planned to stay one night at the Super 8 Motel in Lawrence on business. However, when I turned down the bed I noticed hair, dirt, and stained sheets. Also, the outside temperature was 80 degrees F, which is unseasonably warm for early October. According to the staff, the motel's hallway did not have air conditioning. Furthermore, I couldn't regulate the room's temperature couldn't be regulated properly. I managed to get the credit added back to my credit card and I stayed at another motel without any penalty.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIS4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    37
    33
    21
See reviews for
61
21
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed @ super 8 in Lawrence during race time. nice comfteble bed nice tv * friendly well manner staff. I would recamand this hotel very plesed with stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Just stopped for one night. Arrived late, left early. The front desk staff couldn’t have been nicer. That was unexpected given the cost of the room. That is the best I can say about this place

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busy-Travler-From-OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lawrence hotels

Timnath, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is an old, rundown Super 8. It should be removed from their chain. The price was right, but not much else. The parking lot is crowded. The rooms are tiny. The wooden deck for the back door entrance should be reported to OSHA. It is about to fall down. It was fairly clean, and the breakfast was standard for Super 8s. The desk staff was adequate. The lobby and breakfast area was about 90 degrees and very uncomfortable. The TV in the room was nice. The Internet worked fine although, I may have been connected to an adjoining motel. The place was freshly painted throughout. I won't stay at this one again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBlack7557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Maybe we just hit this place on an off night, since we've usually had good experiences at other Super 8s, but I'd definitely find better quarters if ever staying in Lawrence again. We stayed here one Saturday night while visiting relatives recently. The room was a good price for a Saturday night on Mother's Day weekend and the check-in lady was fast and efficient.
But we had a terrible sleep. Twice in the middle of the night strange men pounded on our door looking for someone who wasn't there. It was noisy throughout the night and the walls don't do much to insulate the noise. The toilet ran constantly too, but we just shut the bathroom door to take care of that. Early in the morning we heard loud voices in the parking lot below along with someone calling out, "We can take you to jail." Sure enough, two police cruisers were parked there, and police were going through another vehicle parked in the lot while the apparent owner watched. There were LOTS of signs in the lot saying the hotel was not responsible for vandalism or thefts to cars parked there. Now we understood why.
The room also had a slightly foul odor too. Not sure what that was. On the plus side, the TV worked well and had a good line-up of channels. The continental breakfast was sparse and that area was quite cluttered too. Not very inviting. I was going to ask the check-out clerk what the commotion with the cops was about but he didn't speak English too well so I didn't bother. Upon packing the car I saw a man in the adjacent apartment complex urinating against the wall there. Wonderful.
But the hotel did brisk business and didn't seem to lack for customers. As I said, maybe it was just a bad night, particularly since it was a Saturday, but I don't think I would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michiganmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2010

The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfast offerings were a little weak but there was enough to get by. Not a great hotel but good enough for travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2010

This hotel is now a Super 8, and it appears that it isn't advertised well yet because there were almost no customers. They are in the process of renovation and everything seems fairly new inside. The only things in my room that were not brand new were the blanket and the bathroom sink. Everything else-floors, paint, tub, TV etc were brand new.
Because there were few customers, the parking lot seemed a little creepy with only one or two cars. Perhaps because of the lack of customers, there was no breakfast selection. Only coffee and a few muffins.
Also, I stayed there with a dog and it seems that the only grassy areas actually belong to neighboring properties, not the hotel itself.
It is not a luxery hotel, but I paid a very low price and believe that I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bordercolliemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
0.5 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#3 of 17 in Lawrence
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 17 in Lawrence
98 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lawrence
BEST WESTERN Lawrence
#8 of 17 in Lawrence
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 515 McDonald Dr, I-70 Exit 202, Lawrence, KS 66049-4237 (Formerly Super 8 Lawrence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Lawrence offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, sightseeing or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free deluxe continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Our guest rooms include a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, Showtime, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and alarm clock radio. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience, our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Dogs are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are located on McDonald Drive, 2 minutes away from I-70 (Take exit 202 and we're on the right). We are also close to K10 (2 miles away). We are near local attractions such as University of Kansas, Spencer Museum of Art, and Clinton State Park. Americas Best Value Inn Lawrence is your best choice within the sixth largest city in the state of Kansas and situated along the banks of the Kansas and Wakarusa Rivers. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, fishing, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Kansas City or Topeka. At Americas Best Value Inn Lawrence our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Lawrence, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lawrence Hotel Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing