We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Circle S Guest Ranch and Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Lawrence B&B and Inns
KC, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We purchased the couples package which includes champagne, chocolates, fruits etc. upon arrival and a nice picnic lunch or dinner (you choose) for the next day as well as a one hour massage for both. The ranch is beautiful and fairly new with all the ammenities of a romantic getaway. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and went out of their way to bring us along while they fed the longhorn and buffalo. There are a couple of nice walking trails to view the livestock and a great wrap around porch to sit and read while enjoying a relaxing evening. Close to Lawrence for a night out shopping, eating, etc. it's in an ideal location. The hot tub room is perfectly designed in its own seperate area with all wood finish and breezey windows (I would mention that there were plenty of towels during our stay - someone had complained earlier about that). The rooms are also very nice featuring a two way fireplace and jacuzzi tub (our bed did have a headboard - also mentioned earlier as a concern). This is ideal for a romantic/relaxing getaway, and I would imagine perfect for small weddings.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Statecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

I had my wedding there last year. It was expensive, but worth it. We rented the grounds for the entire weekend and had our close family and friends stay at the Inn. It was a very cozy and intimate weekend for everyone.

The rooms are very cool. They are all decorated uniquely and are very comfortable. The rooms on the 3rd floor have the fireplace and whirlpool tubs, I prefer those rooms. One of the rooms downstairs has a fireplace also. There is a silo with a hot tub and a spa room for massages.

There were a few snags, but I didn't expect perfection, not even on my wedding day. They were small things that no one but I noticed anyway. If you just ask the owners nicely to take care of something or provide something, they are very good at fulfilling your requests. Overall, the owners and all their associates are very nice and do a great job.

The food was great. We had 2 1/2 days of meals served. Our reception meal was the best slow cooked chicken and brisket ever!! We got so many complements on the food from our guests.

The grounds are beautiful. The ranch is located off a dirt road about 10-15 miles out of Lawrence, which is a great little town to visit. The ranch is complete with roaming buffalo, trails to walk on, a tree swing, and rockers on the porch.

This place is ideal for intimate weddings, a romantic weekend, or a weekend with friends. I recommend following up with them a couple of times before your stay to go over any details or to find out who else may be staying there so you know what to expect.

  • Liked — The location out in the country, the food, the rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

My husband and I went to Circle S to celebrate my 30th birthday. To start on a positive note, the innkeepers are very friendly and the grounds are lovely. However, our experience was not positive. My husband ordered the "romance package" and we stayed in a 3rd floor suite. The "romance package" is VERY overpriced and overrated--save your money and bring your own champagne if you want it. The bed was not comfortable and the pillows were flat. The biggest issue that we had was there was a group of 4 women in the room next to us who were VERY loud and intoxicated--we were kept awake well past midnight due to their loud laughter, screaming, and door slamming...NOT at all quiet, romantic, and relaxing as we had hoped. We do not think it is fair to "house" couples trying to have a romantic weekend away and drunk women having a "girls weekend" in the same place...these are two very different evenings and unfortunately the group of women ruined our very EXPENSIVE evening for us. For the $375 that we spent to have an evening away from home, we felt we should have felt refreshed and well-rested in the morning--instead we came home and took a long nap. We will not return to the Circle S Ranch.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank KansasGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lawrence hotels

Hills of Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2006

The fully restored luxurious ranch is located in the middle of the beautiful Flint Hills of Kansas and within minutes from the progressive/hippie college town of Lawrence. The last 2 miles was dirt road, but our Prius had no problems. The property is secluded and surrounded by buffalos, hiking trails, many trees, birds, a garden and beautiful landscape. The rooms were very clean and with its own rustic theme but yet modern. Nothing felt ancient like some other old bed and breakfasts. The service was very considerated and we hope the owners don't get tired of keep up with the maintanence of this relaxing inn.

  • Liked — Listening only to sounds of nature when waking up in the morning
  • Disliked — Some rooms have no working locks.
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan to drive out for lunch/dinner or eat lunch in Lawrence and bring a dinner snack for later. Bring your hammock.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hectoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, KS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2006

Just got back from a one night stay at the Circle S Ranch. My husband bid on the "romance package" through an online auction site and won. We were to receive a "third floor" room with jacuzzi tub, champagne upon arrival, chocolates/cheese tray and bath "stuff". When we called to book the room...there were no third floor rooms available for any dates we could visit so we settled on a first floor room to accomodate our date. We arrived shortly after checkin hours started and were modestly pleased with our room until we realized that none of the "romance" items had been left. My husband had to go to the checkin area and request them. (Management delivered them promptly minus the "bath" items) The room was nice sized but we were dissappointed with the plastic cups/no shampoo/2 bath towels etc. We did explore the rest of the rooms that remained open and all were decorated with different themes. We did end up visiting the silo later in the evening for a hottub but found no towels at all. Woke up after a very quiet night (not a train, not a plane nor a car to be heard) and enjoyed a nice home cooked breakfast.
This was our first experience with an inn/b&b type stay and have decided it's just not for us but for others I'm sure it would be a great place. All in all, I dont envision going back and I feel we paid too much for what we received (and that was at an auction price) but for some...it would be very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KCTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2004

This is a very nice inn on a nice working ranch. The decor is charming. The breakfast was good. However, the hot tub was overclorinated. Other than that, very nice.

Helpful?
2 Thank KansasLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 22, 2004

We recently stayed at the Circle S Ranch on a weekend get away. The Ranch is very beautiful, looking over rolling hills populated by cattle and buffalo. The inn-keepers were wonderful; charming, attentive, and friendly. The inn is lovely. Close enough to Lawrence, Kansas to take advantage of shopping, dining, and KU basketball games, but far enough away to feel like you're "getting away." The room was okay; there should have been a headboard for our bed, but there was not one. The CD player did not work. There wasn't robes in our room. The water temperature was hard (if not impossible) to regulate in the shower. Our biggest disappointment were the "soft goods." The room had plastic cups rather than glass, cheap toilet paper, bad pillows and mattresses, and rough sheets. The rooms was quiet, however, and we enjoyed the breakfast very much. All in all, we will return, but with lower expectations.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
9.8 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#7 of 17 in Lawrence
170 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Oread
The Oread
#3 of 17 in Lawrence
247 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 17 in Lawrence
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Best Western Lawrence
Best Western Lawrence
#9 of 17 in Lawrence
364 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
396 reviews
9.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circle S Guest Ranch and Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle S Guest Ranch and Country Inn

Property: Circle S Guest Ranch and Country Inn
Address: 3325 Circle S Ln, Lawrence, KS 66044-9427
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Country Inn Lawrence
Lawrence Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing