We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Lawrence
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to rest”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here last night. Was in town for my wife's 40th HS reunion. People were friendly. Beds were great. We left a phone charger in the room and the room attendant ran us down in the parking lot to give it to us before we pulled out. He didn't have to do that!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bransonites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    123
    71
    36
    33
See reviews for
200
59
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were traveling from Tulsa OK to Kansas City KS and didn't have a reservation. The hotels in Kansas City or a little closer to Kansas City were either booked or more than I wanted to pay.

I checked this one out online and then called ahead. The young man that I spoke to on the phone (the same one that ultimately checked us in) was extremely polite and professional. This hotel is very large and has both interior and exterior rooms. We had an exterior room on the 2nd floor. The room was very large, very clean and nicely appointed.

The kids swam in the indoor pool. It was a nice pool, very large. The hot tub wasn't working when we were there.

They have a very large breakfast room right off of the lobby and they had the usual fare. They kept refilling the food as there were a large number of guests. But everyone was accommodated.

I was very pleased with this hotel and would stay there again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Excellent hotel, rooms were very nice, beds were very comfortable, wify was excellent as we had 3 devices. the hotel staff were very helpful ! Located not far off I-70 and a very good breakfast before getting back on the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Starks L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The only rooms available for our 5-night stay was a smoking room when I called to make the reservation. Upon check-in, I asked if any non-smoking rooms had became available, and the clerk said "Yes". He then called the manager, and the manager told the clerk to charge us $30 more per night...same room, only non-smoking. That would have cost us an additional $150 for our stay!!! We decided to do our business with the Hampton instead, and was extremely satisfied!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Best Western Lawrence, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Please accept our apology. I have discussed this issue with the guest service representative who placed the call and the member of the supervisory staff who received the call. Our customer service standard is to take care of any guest issue that arises and do everything possible to correct the issue to the total satisfaction of our guest. All of our employees have full authority to make any decision necessary to make sure everyone who stays with us has a very positive guest experience.
The reservation was made for a smoking room, which was all that was available at the time the reservation was made. However, if we had a non-smoking room available when you were checking in, we should have moved you to a non-smoking room at no additional charge. You should not have been asked to pay an additional amount if we had the room type you desired available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lawrence hotels

1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Best buy and value , quiet, fine amenities, good breakfast and coffee in room. Highly recommend, good location, great staff, nice pool, clean rooms and area close to everything, easy access and Lawrence is a great college with fine bars, wine, food and shopping

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 942trinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have stayed at the Best Western Lawrence once or twice a year for the past 6 years and found it to be one of the better motel choices in Lawrence. The trick we learned is to request a third floor room facing NW (23rd St). We park around the back and use the key card to access the room at the end of the property and use the stairs. These rooms are very quiet, and we never experienced issues with traffic or room noise. The first floor is subject to more foot traffic and food smells from the breakfast room. We never ate the breakfast, as there are a couple of excellent places a few minutes down the road. The motel is a good location for quick access in and out of town, but is only a brief 5 to 10 minute drive to the campus or to the Mass Ave area, where we usually spent most of our time. We always found the rooms to be clean, quiet and comfortable with good beds. The hvac unit runs constantly and is not quiet, but the room stays cool in the summer. The rooms include a fridge and coffeemaker, which are not available in the much more expensive rooms at the Oread. The property is plain and not impressive, but I can say that it remains consistently good. There is a little inconvenience currently with road construction, so travelers need to allow extra time to get through the intersection and remember to turn into the parking lot south of the usual entrance.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on 3rd floor facing NW or 23rd and use the key card entry at the rear of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TulsaTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just traveling through Kansas and needed a room for the night. It was a little way off the highway with a slight detour due to construction but it was worth the time. The gentleman at check in was very helpful with recommendations for dining especially local establishments and was very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
256 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#6 of 17 in Lawrence
172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lawrence

Property: Best Western Lawrence
Address: 2309 Iowa St, Lawrence, KS 66046-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lawrence
#6 Business Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lawrence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lawrence Hotel Lawrence
Lawrence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing