We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lawrence
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    117
    66
    33
    27
See reviews for
187
51
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mpls, MN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed with 2 brittanys, the grass in the hotel area is smallish. There is a nice area behind the motel to walk larger dogs. The pet friendly rooms are in the motel part which is nice when you want to take the dog out. The room is what you would expect from a Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hotel needs modernizing. Good location close to campus.Vary reasonable price. Staff helpfull and friendly. Minor problems fridge would not cool down.the heating and cooling unit stayed cool not warm or change temps.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank kbjersey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Decided to try a booking at this hotel because we come to Lawrence at least 10 times a year from Chicago area for athletic events and normally go to another hotel in the area but read decent reviews about Best Western. We were traveling with another person this time so two rooms had been booked. When I called to confirm the reservation and to ask if the rooms could be on the same floor if possible there was no interest in accomodating that request. "We don't make those assignments 'til the day of arrival--- I cannot promise that." I said that I was calling ahead of time so that they could make that attempt or advise us how to make room accomodations that would make it possible since we were traveling with a young woman who would rather not be in an "out building" as they called it by herself.

Still no recommendations as to how to do this or any effort made to help. There was mention that perhaps we had gotten a "discounted" rate by booking by website and not thru the Best Western directly...so that we "got what we got" so to speak. I Immediately cancelled the rooms and decided that since this weekend was a non basketball weekend, that the best western could just go a little emptier due to the poor response we received. On to another hotel for the same price. Fairwell Best Western--learn from this experience.

Room Tip: lots of choices in lawrence--- shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjbenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lawrence hotels

Houston, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Daughter & I stayed 3 nights. Loved the location, people, service, cleanliness; however, the floors need more sound- and thud-proofing from above rooms. Would definitely stay again if we can get top floor!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

They banged on my door every morning despite the "do not disturb" sign. I stayed here for a week and everyday they were rude and disrespectful about whether or not I was staying. This morning the general manager and some maintenance guy showed up asking if I was staying and explaining the card authorization process. No single woman wants two dudes hassling her at her hotel room for no apparent reason. And the phones didn't worksite I couldn't even call the front desk. It is nota comfortable environment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kublai12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lawrence, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
After checking in for one night, the guest remained in the room past the posted check-out time. We contacted the guest to inquire if they were checking out and perhaps would like for us to extend to them a late check-out time, if that would be of assistance to them. The guest indicated their desire to extend the stay. However, credit authorization and payment was problematic. While being very courteous and patient with the guest, we attempted to assist them with this issue. Each day, for the next few days, this situation was repeated as the guest wanted to continue extending their stay. Each day we had to contact the guest past check-out time and try to assist them with satisfying the financial responsibility to remain in the room. At all times we approached this issue with a high level of respect for the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#3 of 17 in Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lawrence

Property: BEST WESTERN Lawrence
Address: 2309 Iowa St, Lawrence, KS 66046-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lawrence
#6 Business Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lawrence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lawrence Hotel Lawrence
Lawrence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing