We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close To Kansas University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Lawrence
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked this hotel in Lawrence because it was near KU. We attended a football game and wanted something close to the college. They had a breakfast which was continental and had some waffle makers. The rooms were clean and had a microwave and refrigerator. The room had a Queen size bed and couch. We also received free wireless internet. There is an indoor pool and hot tub and a Chili's restaurant within walking distance. Nearby is a great BBQ Restaurant which is also within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nytexan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Lawrence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 396 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this particular Best Western while traveling thorugh Kansas on our way from Colorado and on our way back from Colorado. The hotel was very nice and the price was more than fair. There are plenty of things within walking distance of this Hotel including a Chili's® thats right in the same lot as the hotel. I read some of the reviews and i have to say that it sounds like some people simply tried to get something for nothing, got mad when they couldnt get it and left a bad review. The guy who talks about having 2 TV's in the room seems to be making things up. Each room has a single TV and it worked just fine. The Hotel has just gone thorugh a VERY extensive renovation and everything is working and looking good. Give it a shot, you'll be happy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the ones in the main building give you the best access to the BIG swimmin...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrGMandCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

After checking in, we went to our room and upon opening the door were greeted with a horrible, musty smell. Turning off the air conditioner didn't improve anything. We did find a used washcloth balled up in the corner of the shower.
There were two televisions in the room (one HD, one picture tube) but only one remote control. We tried using the HD television, but no matter what we did it kept changing the channel back to the default. I tried to call the front desk about the issues, only to discover none of the phones in the room worked.

After going to the front desk to complain about things, we were given a different room for our stay. In that room, we discovered there were no sheets for the sofa bed. We also discovered that the refrigerator and television weren't working ... and ultimately, we figured out that neither were even plugged in. My son reached through the entertainment console to plug them both in, and then we subsequently discovered that outlet was tied to the light switch at the room's entrance. We could watch TV and use the refrigerator, as long as we left the lights on.

We later discovered there was no ice maker available on the second floor, and that there were no towels available for the swimming pool or hot tub.

This place seemed understaffed and terribly unorganized. At one point I walked into the exercise room (or so the sign said) looking for towels to use for the pool ... only to discover it was being used as a storage room (including about a dozen flat screen televisions, still in their boxes). Anyone who wanted to could have taken one of those televisions, walked up to the second floor without entering the lobby, and then used another hotel exit without ever having passed the front desk. Not very good security .. not very good management.

My feedback to the company's Website received a token apology, nothing more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8E411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was a business trip, so I didn't need much. Overall, OK, but I expected a little more for the price.
Pros:
Motel-style, can park right outside ground-level room, which I always prefer
Non-smoking hotel -- my room smelled nice, like it's never been smoked in. Also, it does not smell like a pet has ever been in it, which I prefer.
Microwave and fridge in the room
Good wi-fi connection
Good location -- CVS across the street; many restaurants on 23rd street; 5 mins from large shopping center
Free breakfast w/ waffle iron
Fitness center is small but sufficient

Cons:
Main entree for breakfast was the same for 3 mornings in a row (biscuits and gravy, which I don't like). Really?
Hot water valve in the tub was broken -- had to find the right spot to shut it off; awkward when you're under the showerhead.
A/C in my room was very noisy; can't hear your TV because of it (though it didn't keep me from sleeping).
Don't get excited about the swimming pool: It is very tiny. With just three people already in it, I didn't feel comfortable trying it.

Room Tip: My room, described above, was the ground floor room right next to the fitness center.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank God_Bless_The_DADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Well our first stay wasnt bad but when we were there last time we reserved the same room for a month in advance.Well we drove for 9 hours from Kentucky and when we arrive this time its really late and we are tired and when we go to check in they tell us "Oh the girl that was working last time apparently didnt put it in the computer but we will talk to the manager tommorrow about giving you a discount since it was their mistake".So we agreed because we were exhausted and didnt feel like looking somewere else.Well the next day we get ready to check out and lo and behold,guess what,the manager wont be in today either,so there goes any chance of a discount.So to sum it all up,we thought Lawrence,Ks was a nice place and there were nice people there,but we WILL NEVER,EVER SPEND OUR MONEY AT THAT BEST WESTERN AGAIN!!!!

Room Tip: The bathrooms have no ventilation and you can barely turn around!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephandJessic... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My 93 year old Mom had room 419 which is a handicap room. She was attacked by bed bugs as soon as she went to bed. She put 3 bugs between 1/8 and 1/4 inch long in a plastic cup of water which I gave to the front desk. Avoid this place.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Darryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I had to travel to Lawrence, KS for my mom's Memorial. We drove from Los Angeles, CA and it was exhausting and stressful. We, being huge fans of the chain, found the Best Western in Lawrence online. We really hoped for a very nice room for the impending stressful, emotional weekend ahead and that's exactly what we got! First of all, we were treated very respectfully by Farrah who helped us check in with Emma. Both ladies were very sweet and accommodating. Everything worked out and we were given our room keys. When we opened the door to our room, we were astounded by how gorgeous the room was with the beautiful dark wood and the orange and brown bedspreads on the bed. Not those typical ugly hotel bedspreads. It was super clean. The beds were really comfy! The ice machine was conveniently located. It was super quiet! You can walk to bars or restaurants from there. The best thing was the indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi! OMG! So fabulous. So clean. The pool is warm. It's pure luxury! Plus, they have a washer and dryer for your convenience. So handy! The place is basically flawless and the staff is super pro and sweet. I totally recommend anyone going to Lawrence to stay at the Best Western! You won't be disappointed! Ask for Farrah, she'll take the best care of you. Emma is the bomb as well! Thanks so much for the great experience. We would stay again in a second! Happy summer. :) Kelly & Wayne from LA.

Room Tip: We stayed in the outside rooms. It was great! Very convenient. :)
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Lawrence
261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
2.1 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lawrence

Address: 2309 Iowa St, Lawrence, KS 66046-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lawrence
#6 Business Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range: $83 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lawrence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lawrence Hotel Lawrence
Lawrence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing