We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good customer service, argued with me about my meal.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of First Watch

First Watch
Ranked #18 of 307 Restaurants in Lawrence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted Best Breakfast and Brunch by the Lawrence World Journal, First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
Gypsum, Kansas
2 reviews
“Not good customer service, argued with me about my meal.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The first time we went for breakfast it was good but not very good service. We decided to try it again anyway. I ordered Eggs Benedict and specifically asked the waitress to make sure the cook gets the poached eggs done enough so the whites are cooked well. When our food arrived, not only was the eggs cold, the white part of the egg was still clear and raw. When I finally caught the waitresses attention to send them back I told my family to eat theirs before it got cold. After 25 minutes, she brought out my food and said " the cook said your eggs were cooked perfectly and nothing was wrong, but he remade them anyway." She then proceeded to tell me that I should have asked for them to be cooked more when I ordered them. The plate was supposed to come with sliced avocado and tomatoes which were apparently thrown away with the original eggs. The English muffin was from my original plate which was cold and soggy.
Never again. We will wait an hour if necessary to go to Milton's next time!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Solid breakfast place”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

First Watch is on-par with my reliable home-town spot in Dallas: Cindy's. They have huge pancakes, including healthy versions with fruit on top; omelets are good as well. The coffee is good and keeps flowing. The service is quick and though it's packed, wait times are short. It's definitely worth a visit if you are in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanandCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
1 review
“Best breakfast in town”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have family in Lawrence and have visited there several times over the years. Each trip I make sure to visit First Watch, best breakfast in town!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank WBC_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Chain but good breakfast”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Banana Crunch Pancakes and Omelets are great here. I don't really care for the ritzy re-model though. It was nicer and homier before. Still good food!

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quality spiraling out of control & NO ONE CARES!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Have been a big fan of this breakfast place for many, many years and it is sad how the mighty have fallen. Every time our travels take us to Lawrence we look forward to visiting 2 places with First Watch being one of those. Scrambled eggs and omlets have always been hot and fluffy. Biscuits were better than homemade and potatoes were beyond perfection. The biscuits I had with my biscuits & gravy were not cuttable with a knife let alone a fork. They tasted as if they were leftover from a previous day and then microwaved. Having not ate them I thought the waitress might inquire as to what was wrong, but apparently it must be ordinary for people to order stuff and not eat it cause she never asked how it was. The cashier and Mgr who also struck up conversations with me NEVER inquired about how our meal was. I guess if they don't care, I guess I shouldn't either. I found out from a friend that they are not individually owned anymore but are part of a corporation which explains alot. First Watch I am going to miss you.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank redwingrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Watch also viewed

 

Been to First Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing