We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food with great beer choices”

Free State Brewing Co
Ranked #5 of 367 Restaurants in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a road trip heading west and spent the night in town. Followed the great reviews here and they were spot on! Seated and greeted immediately. There were at least 8 or 10 beer choices (lagers, IPAs, an oatmeal stout, and even a sour beer). The ones we tried were very tasty. We had a series of appetizers, along with a dinner salad, and were very pleased with our choices. The chicken tenders had a delicious, unique flavor, as did the baked goat cheese. Service was accurate and prompt. Prices were very reasonable.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I’ve known the owner for many years and you can not beat his quality at either the Free State or Wheatfields.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Stupid good beer and amazing menu with the best of the best in Lawrence--If you don't go you are missing out big time!!!!!!!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Checked out this place while on a trip to KU. Great food, nice atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank CD35244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

My daughter had the Artichoke Tomato Tortellini & I had the Sonoma Shrimp Fettuccine. We both really liked our food, although my dish ended up being a little more unhealthy that I anticipated;) Unfortunately, it was so loud that it was a little hard to hold a conversation (a Thursday evening around 6 PM). I also did not enjoy walking through cigarette smoke to enter & leave the restaurant, but it just may be something I have to get used to when visiting Lawrence?

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank austintxmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free State Brewing Co also viewed

 

Been to Free State Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing