We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”

Free State Brewing Co
Ranked #1 of 311 Restaurants in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just had lunch there. The beer selections are fantastic, and the food is really good! Being locally owned is a plus for me as I try to support local establishments when I can.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank magda38836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    225
    45
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place in Downtown Lawrence”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been a few years since I have eaten at this micro-brewery. Happened upon it twice this month. Love their brews - had a Saison the first visit and their Ad Astra the next time ... I liked the Saison the best. Enjoyed their French Dip sandwich and the Brewery Burger. My one wish is that the owners would update the restrooms and make them more wheelchair accessible

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcitybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best brewery in town”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went there for dinner and was not disappointed. The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. There were 10 in our party and everyone raved about their choice. it also helps that the beer is excellent. This is a must for anyone in Lawrence.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and quick service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We visited on a Monday evening and were seated immediately upstairs in a booth. It was a busy place, but the waitress was efficient and friendly. We ordered the pasta special of the day and it was very good. We are not beer drinkers, so can't comment on that. We also ordered the onion rings and they were delicious. We were in a bit of a hurry and our waitress was great about hurrying our order along.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlynnCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
233 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Suprising fast service”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Like the review before us, we went on the suggestion of the night clerk at the Comfort Inn and we were not disappointed. They are located on the north end of downtown Lawrence and the sidewalks were busy on Sunday night during our visit. The restaurant was very busy but we were seated in about 20 minutes without a reservation. Food portions are generous and served quickly. They have a number of craft beers and post them for our consideration. We were seated in the back room that was non-descriptive but the rest of the place looked to have a lot better atmosphere. Since the place was full of customers, it was pretty loud and hard to talk, even in the back room where we were. Liked the location, especially since Cold Stone Creamery was across the street for desert! Yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free State Brewing Co also viewed

 

Been to Free State Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing