We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place”

Free State Brewing Co
Ranked #1 of 307 Restaurants in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burlington, Kansas
2 reviews
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had lived in Lawrence for 5 years and never found a place as cool and with as good eats as Free State. Awesome beer selection, wonderful atmosphere. I try to go back every chance I get!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpettyjhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    218
    44
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Even if you don't drink beer, the Free State Brewing Company in Lawrence, KS is must stop. The food is always very good and the service is top notch. Their beers aren't bad either! ;-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tkofford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGO VISTA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My very favorite place to go when I visit Lawrence. The food is always great and the specials are interesting. The place is always crowded so plan early. It is so much fun and my son says the beer is the best!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ALINE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“h”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I don't drink beer and I don't much care for brewery eateries. But I adore Free State! The food is fabulous, the service is amazing and the commitment to sustainability and local where here in the Midwest years ago at Free State. I love that it is the first legal brewery in KS since prohibition. I love that half of the townies have worked there at one point or another. Must haves include the golden grill chicken, the french dip, the house fries, the goat cheese thing, the onion rings during March Mustard Madness!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LunaUndone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
203 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Always great food, always great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Visited Lawrence again (after 10 years) and had to go back to Free State. The food is always great and the service is awesome. The menu has a variety of regular dishes, but they always have seasonal specials as well. You can't go wrong with the regular dishes, they are consistently fresh and excellent overall. This time I tried a special and it was equally as fresh and tasty as the regular dishes. Being a brew-pub, it's a little loud but worth your time and money. Very fairly priced for the quality, variety and service!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wbforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free State Brewing Co also viewed

 

Been to Free State Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing