We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favorite Pizza”

Morningstar's NY Pizza
Ranked #52 of 322 Restaurants in Lawrence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Description: Come to Morningstar's New York Pizza for a true taste of New York with our hand-tossed New York style pizza, savory calzones, and delicious entrees! We're a family-owned restaurant that treats everybody like family and that means serving you only the best. We choose our ingredients for their quality and flavor, making sure that only the freshest vegetables, sauces, and meats top your pizza or go into your Italian-inspired dish. The Morningstar's New York Pizza menu really has something for everyone - from our authentic New York style pizza to our incredible pastas to our hearty hero sandwiches, you're sure to find the perfect meal to excite your taste buds! A few customer pasta favorites include our homemade manicotti with its rich ricotta cheese and our lasagna, served with meatball or sausage. We'll even customize your dish to meet your cravings! Whatever you're in the mood for, our friendly staff will have you feeling right at home and full of good food in no time. And when you don't have time to dine in, give us a call and we'll deliver right to your door. Or you can grab a few friends and join us to watch the big game on one of our three TVs over some beers or margaritas! Come by Morningstar's New York Pizza for lunch or dinner, with family or friends -- just be sure to come by hungry!
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fresh ingredients, excellent taste, friendly staff & owner. We ordered large Meat Pie for 3 adults plus order of breadsticks and garlic knots with one piece left over. Huge pieces. Small inside, small outdoor patio, nice selection of tv's with sports on. Will return - often - and highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KansasCityMoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Owner at Morningstar's NY Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

It's so great to hear you're a fan of our place! Can't go wrong with a meat pie and breadsticks! Hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Morningstar's New York Pizza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 27 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Kool building. We liked the atmosphere. Onions rings rock...some of the best u will have Service was fast and great. Food was good. You will like this place. We did not have any beer but is supposed to be really good. Try it you'll like it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank furpie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Owner at Morningstar's NY Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Glad you were a fan of our place! Thanks for the support and we hope to have you back soon!

All the best,
Morningstar's New York Pizza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a really good NY style pizza. The owners were there and very attentive to customers. The staff that took care of us were very friendly and always checking to see if we needed anything. The salad was not just a side salad, the dressing was very good and I think homemade, lettuce and vegetables very fresh. The atmosphere was exactly what you would want for a local neighborhood Pizza Parlor.

Due to KU basketball ties it is also a great place to spot some of our local KU basketball stars!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveler1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Owner at Morningstar's NY Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2014

It's great to hear you're a fan of our place! Thanks for the support and we hope to have you back soon!

All the best,
Morningstar's New York Pizza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wait staff used bare hands to take food from warming area. The pizza was okay but seeing how food was handled was a real turn off. Wrote to owners with our address but did not hear from them

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vic123kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went there just to give it a try, and were delightfully surprised! We've been there 3 times in the last 2 weeks and really enjoy it. The food, service, and atmosphere are all great! It looks like we now have a new "go-to" in west Lawrence!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fallguy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morningstar's NY Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Morningstar's NY Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing