We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel just off highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Coppell TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent hotel just off highway”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here on two independent nights. The hotel is fairly new and sits on the way into Lawrence. We had a decent stay with a clean and quiet room. One night we had a king bed, and the next night we stayed, we had two double beds.

The breakfast was just fine and was your typical hotel continental breakfast that many hotels are now including with a room. Nothing to write home (or TripAdvisor) about, but satisfactory.

This hotel is not near the KU campus. It is not far (maybe a 10-15 minute drive), but a car is helpful to get to campus. If being on or within walking distance to the KU campus is important to you, this is not the hotel for you.

Also, on our second night's stay, the desk clerk wasn't sure how to handle our reservation which we booked on Travelocity. We booked it under my husband's name, but he was not on the trip with us. She asked me to call my husband to confirm that we were under the reservation. It was a very odd situation. I explained that we had been at the that hotel two nights before with the same type of reservation and had no problems. I also told her that we shared the same credit card that was used to make the reservation. After a few more minutes, she relented and said I did not have to contact my husband. I told her I would happily do that, but didn't understand why I had to. She said they have problems with students trying to use their parent's credit cards to stay at the hotel. I'm still unsure why this was confusing for her, but I'm chalking it up to inexperience perhaps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasLCJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    77
    24
    12
    13
See reviews for
105
53
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

After travelling with two young children across the country we arrived at this wonderful establishment around 12am. The front desk staff was professional, friendly, & quick to get us into the best room we stayed at during our 3300 mile car trip. The room was immaculate and the price was reasonable. What a relief to sink into comfortable bedding after a long drive. The flat screen and Direct TV was just one more thing to make us feel at home. Breakfast was excellent, and well maintained. If you are driving through Kansas City the extra 30 minutes out of town is worth it to find a gem like this place. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your raving review it was very helpful and informative. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Comfort Inn and Suites. I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and will not stay anywhere else when I am in Lawrence. The rooms are clean, modern, and the beds are comfortable. Large high definition TVs with Direct TV. On top of the quality of hotel, they have a wonderful staff. I left a belonging on my last stay and Galina, who was behind the front desk, went out of her way to make sure I got it back quickly. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your raving review it was very helpful and informative. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Comfort Inn and Suites. I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here one night before a KU student orientation. Check in was quick and easy. The cookies were warm and chewy! Yum. They also offered a free bottle of cold water which was a nice touch. Our room was nicely decorated with plenty of space. It included a refrigerator and microwave. The rooms were nice and quiet. The pool area was clean and the kids enjoyed swimming in it. The breakfast was nice and included scrambled eggs, bacon and they also had regular and blueberry waffles that were tasty. The drive to KU took about 15 minutes - so it was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlynnCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your raving review it was very helpful and informative. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Comfort Inn and Suites. I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were told this hotel is only a year old. It's very nice, double queen room was larger than usual, looks and smells clean, nice decor, good breakfast. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomJan44885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your raving review it was very helpful and informative. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Comfort Inn and Suites. I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroy, Iowa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was a stop on our trip from Iowa to Texas. I booked it because the reviews looked great and I was not disappointed. The kids thought the cookies at check-in were the best! Both kids enjoyed the pool. I enjoyed the breakfast with the softest yummy biscuits I had on this trip. It was a great stop to rest on our way home. It will be on our list to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your raving review it was very helpful and informative. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Comfort Inn and Suites. I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
233 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent two nights and the Comfort Inn, one week apart, going and coming from a visit in Illinois. It's been a while since we met such a friendly staff in a motel. Wonderful! The night clerk was very helpful in advising places to eat and we weren't disappointed with her recommendation. The motel has Dish TV with over 100 channels allowing us to wind down after an 8 hour drive with lots of choices for entertainment.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise since it's near a busy street. Not sure you can avoid it so if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your raving review it was very helpful and informative. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Comfort Inn and Suites. I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
0.9 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#4 of 17 in Lawrence
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Lawrence
Best Western Lawrence
#9 of 17 in Lawrence
366 reviews
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
#10 of 17 in Lawrence
235 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 151 McDonald Dr, Lawrence, KS 66044-1056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing