We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Terrible!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn KU Lawrence
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Reviewed November 21, 2007

Oh my, this hotel was simply terrible! We stayed for the KU/NE game and my parents had made the reservation for two rooms. Needless to say my husband and I opened our room and knew at once we could not stay here. We wound up calling around and finding another room for the night. I was fully prepared to sleep in the car if I had to! There were bugs in the corners, the room had a smell, the bathroom floor was sticky. There is nothing nice to say about it. The lobby was terrible and the breakfast area was very dirty and nasty as well. Just say no to this hotel! We didn't even get a good deal on it, it was $159 a night because it was a game weekend. So, with the other hotel we sayed at we wound up paying over $300 just for one night!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank frqnt_trvlrSt.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertarizona, Owner at Days Inn KU Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

we are the new owner of this property since 2008.after we bought this hotel we change everything.its under new mgt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn KU Lawrence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 302 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2007

We just returned from a weekend visit to KU to see my stepson. This Motel was terrible. We had a non-smoking room although when you opened the door all you could smell was smoke. Besides the smell the carpet didn't look like it had been vacuumed, the night stand drawer was missing, there was no phone in the room (looked like it had been screwed to the desk but removed), the T.V. had a loose connection at the wall. There was a gap around the door about 1/2 inch which caused the dead bolt to not latch properly. After returning late for our second night neither key worked in the door. I would not recommend this motel at all.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PatFortWorth_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertarizona, Owner at Days Inn KU Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

This hotel is under the new mgt.since 2008. everything was newly & remodled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

I stayed in this room one night, and it was enough for the rest of my life. When I pulled back the covers on the bed, there was a crappy lighter sitting there. I was sure if this was a little present, seeing as I was in a smoking room. The pillows were paper thin, with bloodstains on them. No mini-fridge!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank klaboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertarizona, Owner at Days Inn KU Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

This hotel is under the new mgt.since 2008. everything was newly & remodled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

We booked the Hallmark Inn through Hotwire. Initially, it was listed as a 2 star then downgraded to a 1. This motel is definitely a 1. It's acceptable. Upon arrival we received a smoking room when reserved a non-smoking. We were moved to a room with no AC. Thankfully it was cold that weekend. The room had no remote and the tv reception was bad. The bed and bathroom were clean but the room was a bit tired. The continental breakfast is not that appealling. It's in a very small room and only has waffles, cereal, orange juice, milk and coffee. Housekeeping is lacking. We stayed for two nights and on the second day our room wasn't cleaned. We only stayed here due to not being able to get a room anywhere else in town. It was acceptable but that's about it. I would prefer not to return to this motel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JRsNeighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertarizona, Owner at Days Inn KU Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

This hotel is under the new mgt.since 2008. everything was newly & remodled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2005

I called about two hours out, after having gotten the address and phone from my Garmin 2610 GPS. She gave me the price of $53.95 on the phone. Upon arrival, it was $54.95, but I didn't argue. The clerk, as usual, was alone and swamped with telephone calls and guests arriving. She said there were no non-smoking rooms available on the first floor. The first room had not been made up, so we went for a room change. The second room had supposedly been cleaned, but it wasn't vacuumed, there was mold in the shower grout, and the bedspread had just been pulled up over the sheets. An examination of the sheets revealed that they had not been changed, Apparently the housekeeper thought that someone wouldn't notice. After the third room was assigned, which happened to be on the first floor, it was acceptable, although it wasn't very clean. The clerk said that wireless internet was availble, and she gave me the key to get into it. Trouble was, there was no signal. The clerk suggested I bring my laptop down to the office to use it there, since the signal was stronger there. Finally found the one ice machine for 80+ units. In the morning, it was discovered that there was water leaking through the ceiling into my bathroom, from the unit above. At checkout, the desk was being run by two 18 year old guys, who could care a less about the motel, let alone trying to comp anything for the unpleasant experience. They said that the manager "should be here", and I agree. The continental breakfast in the morning was acceptable. This is a AAA approved motel, but I don't think they'll make the muster at the next AAA inspection. I think I'll try the Golden Rule motel next trip. HST

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Hunter_Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertarizona, Owner at Days Inn KU Lawrence, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

This hotel is under the new mgt.since 2008. everything was newly & remodled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 28, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wojciech P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
0.6 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#6 of 17 in Lawrence
183 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 17 in Lawrence
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
261 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Lawrence
Best Western Lawrence
#9 of 17 in Lawrence
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn KU Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn KU Lawrence

Address: 730 Iowa St, Lawrence, KS 66044-1741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Price Range: $61 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn KU Lawrence 1.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn KU Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing