We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improvements have been made since last visit, Thanks you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Improvements have been made since last visit, Thanks you!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This trip our room was clean & properly made up. Service was top notch! We stayed their twice in Dec, once picking our daughter up from KU and again dropping her off. They sure have breakfast down to a science so the food is always fresh. Our first stay was a KU basketball game morning so it was packed but Phyllis has everything under control. We will be back again! Note: In a prior review I mentioned $1 sodas in the machines, well soda is more expensive on the first floor. I think it might be because it takes credit cards?

Room Tip: Rooms that face the movie theater are very quiet. We have faced the street on the first floor and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisinDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear CruisinDawn,

Thanks so much for returning to us so many times and for sharing your nice comments again. Its guests like you that make our jobs of providing excellent service and accommodations very rewarding. Phyllis is amazing and I'll be sure she receives the positive recognition she deserves for being mentioned here by you. We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    62
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
79
36
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Checked in early as my husband was ill and needed to sleep. Booked room through IHG.com. Reservation was correct, but upgraded to 1 bedroom suite upon arrival. Received waters at check-in from a very efficient desk person. The living/mini-kitchen area; complete with sink, microwave, mini-fridge, cabinets, coffeemaker, table with four chairs, sofa sleeper, arm chair, flat screen TV, large closet with mirrored sliding doors and combination safe, felt spacious. Because of the nice eating area, we got takeout from a local restaurant and enjoyed dining alone. The separate bedroom housed a large Jacuzzi tub along with an extremely comfortable king sized bed with pillow choices, flat screen TV, arm chair and desk. The bedspread was not the Express' updated white comforter with duvet, however. Maybe because the rest of the suite was so large, the bathroom seemed small. The suite was clean and everything worked. The room key advertised a free appetizer at Longhorn Steakhouse. A movie theater, JCP and a handful of restaurants were within walking distance. There was some noise until the wee hours, but after all, it was New Years Eve! The desk person promised bacon at breakfast, but unfortunately we slept in and missed it, so we'll have to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear JW,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your comments. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you (bacon) again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This is an Amazing hotel, I love staying there. It is always super clean thanks to Patty the head housekeeper. The front desk staff Alex and Tim arevery nice and helpful. Will definitely stay again and recommend the hotel to my friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mcjunmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Mcjunmp,

Thank for making your very first TA review about your experiences with us. We value your loyalty and your business and are happy to hear that you'll be staying with us again. We appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team, and I'll be sure that they receive the positive rewards they deserve for being mentioned here by you. We all look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for the first time. Very easy reservation, confirmation and check-out process. To our surprise, room was ready even before the check-in time. Staff was very friendly, helpful, classy and welcoming. Very clean and organized room. Breakfast was fantastic; one of the best we have experienced in a hotel ... it had a home feeling to it. Just stayed one night but it would have been really easy to stay another night. Next time we come to Lawrence, we will book here again...not need to look around. Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Lawrence is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Just stayed one night on a second floor facing the Hollywood Theater. No problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Fernando H,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. It's always nice to receive compliments from happy guests, and I will share your remarks with the rest of our team here. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel is 2 miles from our daughter's home in Lawrence, and we usually stay here during visits. We spent Thanksgiving 2013 in residence.

Truth to tell, it's almost like spending time with family (in the good sense). Kansans are generally very nice people. The folks at this hotel are super nice people. At the last minute we had to bring our little dog with us. Problem? No way. Taken care of promptly and left us feeling that our Jenny was the reason they come to work.

Need an extra room at the last minute? Feared we would get gouged because of the holiday, but no way--they gave us the same rate as the room I booked in September.

The breakfast is good and hot. The rooms are super clean and quiet, with a good TV and a shower I wish I could take home with me.

Did not use the pool this time but I have in the past, and it's well kept and long enough for laps.

Tripadvisor doesn't like it when I give a place a 5, but hey, this place has earned it, year after year.

Room Tip: I've had rooms in every area and haven't had a bad one yet. Not a loud part of town. (Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Judy H,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your many visits with us. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing the best in service, accommodations, amenities and facilities very rewarding. We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to serving you and your family here many more times.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was pleased by the employees' friendliness and quick response to a request.
The conference room we rented for 4 days was very clean, in a quiet location - which was a pleasant surprise since it was right across from the pool! But we had great acoustics and no real distracting noise.
The electrical wiring was more than adequate. We had 16 sewing machines plus lighting and irons without a single blown fuse. Fantastic.
Best of all, the air conditioning worked well.
I felt the staff went "above and beyond" to make sure we were pleased with our experience.
We already booked another event. Terry B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Terry B,

Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I enjoyed the use of the conference rooms with my quilt group. The location was very convenient. The space was very comfortable and clean. The staff was kind enough to let us use the dining area for our carry-in meals. They even gave us coffee one day, which is essential fuel for us! We have already booked for the spring, and I'm looking forward to it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Robin W,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your recent experience at our hotel. I'm glad you and your group were happy here and hope we can serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Lawrence
Best Western Lawrence
#9 of 17 in Lawrence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lawrence Downtown
3.4 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#4 of 17 in Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lawrence

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
Address: 3411 S Iowa St, Lawrence, KS 66046-5231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#5 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lawrence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites takes pride in its clean, comfortable, spacious rooms and friendly staff. Our hotel is the place to stay in Lawrence, Kansas.Our hotel is only 5 minutes from the University of Kansas , Rock Chalk Park and the Soccer and Softball Fields, Lied Center, Dole Institute of Politics, Haskell University, Alvamar Golf Course, and the historic downtown of Lawrence, Kansas. The hotel offers complimentary high speed Internet and a meeting facility that accommodates 50 to 80 people depending on set-up.Must be 21 and have a valid credit card to rent a room. We are sorry but we are no longer allow pets. We are a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence Hotel Lawrence
Holiday Inn Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing